Windows 2000 installation mess up

Discussion in 'Software' started by rafiki6, Sep 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    I just tried to upgrade from windows 98 Se to windows 200 pro. I asked the installtion to make my harddrive ntfs. After it went through the ntfs process for the first partition of the drive, it completely messed up. Now when i start my computer first the windows loads then enters a weird screen, saying Harddrive already NTFS Setup is now restarting. After that i get a blue screen mesasge saying, that the file C:\WINDOWS\system32\win32k.sys could not be found. Beginning to dump physical Memory, Physical memeory dup complete. Contact your System administrator or technincal support group. Help waht do i do. I can't even acces dos, to atleast foramt and just reinstall 98. HElp me please
     
    rafiki6, Sep 17, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rafiki6

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    You can put the windows 2000 disk in the drive, and reboot. If you have your BIOS set to boot from the cd-rom first, it should come up with a windows 2000 installation screen, and you should be able to install 2000.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Sep 18, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rafiki6

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yikes... upgrade from Windows 98? I'd never recommend doing an upgrade to any OS... :|
     
    James, Sep 18, 2004
    #3
  4. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    the things is my cd is set to boot first, but something must have happened dunrg the ahrdrive conversion process. I think my cdrom was unistalled
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #4
  5. rafiki6

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    No, it doesn't work like that. Is this the retail version of Windows 2000?
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Sep 18, 2004
    #5
  6. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    im not sure i think its a copied oem version. I got this from my company and they have a license to ditribute microsoft products amongst their workers. So this is actually a copied c. But i think its oem.
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #6
  7. rafiki6

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    MSFT does not have a lisence where you can distrubute it throughout employees homes. At work, yes, but not at home...

    The way the installation works, you boot from the CD, text install launches, formats your HDD, copies files, reboots, skips the booting from a CD, launches a GUI install.

    The second time through don't hit the button to boot from the CD, the GUI setup should load after.

    Boot order should be CD, then HDD.
     
    James, Sep 18, 2004
    #7
  8. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    the thing is rite now it is saying it can't find the win32k.sys file in c: there for it must have been deleted. Now inorder to coniture the setup all i need to do is be able toa cces c: some how and put that file in c:\WINDOWS\system32
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #8
  9. rafiki6

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Try formatting the drive and reinstalling first... You haven't completed the install any ways.
     
    James, Sep 18, 2004
    #9
  10. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    how can i
    i cant even acces ms-dos. If i could i would
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #10
  11. rafiki6

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    You can find the boot disk's on the internet so you can boot from floppy...
     
    davi99, Sep 18, 2004
    #11
  12. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    if u could possibly give me a site that would be appreciated
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #12
  13. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    i got the boot disk and every time i try to do any thing to c: it tells me" invaldie media type reading drive c:"
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #13
  14. rafiki6

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    You can format the drive with your 2000 CD, as long as it's the full version. Which version do you have?
     
    James, Sep 18, 2004
    #14
  15. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    i am not sure but i think it is the full version. BUt i think the problem is now that c: is inaccesabile, because it was made an ntfs drive. I am running bios on my computer from 96. They are pretty old and now i think taht they are incompatible with my dirve. Also i keep on tryingto figure it out but i can't. The computer does not want to recognize my cd-rom drive. Why? please help
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #15
  16. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    what if i pull a power surge
    unplug the plug
     
    rafiki6, Sep 18, 2004
    #16
  17. rafiki6

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    davi99, Sep 19, 2004
    #17
  18. rafiki6

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'm confused at what you're doing and have... What do you have for a CD? What are you doing in what steps... please be more clear so I can help you out better....
     
    James, Sep 19, 2004
    #18
  19. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    alright this is exactly what happened. I had Windows 98 Se installled. I insereted the windows 2000 cd which i received from work. It was a copied cd not an original. I put the cd in adn went through the steps, then i agreed to convert my harddrive to NTFS. DUing the process of conversion, after it finished making the first partition of my disk, the computer restarted. Then it displays a message in a black screen centred around a WINDOWs 200 installation screen, that says DISK is already NTFS. THen all of a sudden a hummongous blue screen shows up aying "STOP:c000..." i dont remeber the exact number but under it it says (UNable to locate device driver) Cannot find C:\WINDOWS\system32\win32k.sys

    Then after taht under that message it says, "Begining to dump physical memory" Physical memory dump complete. Contact System administrator, or Tech Support Group".

    After that the computer is inaccesable and i cannot run any MS_DOS on it. I got a boot disk, it began running fnie. Every time i try to do anything to C: it tells me Invalid media type trying to access drive C:"

    It also can't access my CD-Rom drive. If i try it says" INvalid device driver'

    So help me out here are my current hardware specs:

    INtel P133mHz
    81 Mg of ram
    2gig hardrive
    Nec Multispin 8v Cd-rom reader
    3 1/2 Floppy disk
    100mg Capacity Zip drive
    Phenoix BIOS form 1996
    And an ESS modem
    And some type of Ether net card
     
    rafiki6, Sep 19, 2004
    #19
  20. rafiki6

    rafiki6 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    thx in advacne for any input or suggestions
     
    rafiki6, Sep 19, 2004
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.