What was your first OS?

Discussion in 'Software' started by James, Jan 12, 2003.

  1. James

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Mine was Windows 3.1

    I do not miss those days.. :x
     
    James, Jan 12, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. James

    XavierYZ

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    the ole commedor 64

    Load
    run *.* some crap like that

    I can't remember the os name,

    also I became very fimilary was Dos 6.0 when I was 8 years old
     
    XavierYZ, Jan 12, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. James

    Kristi I'm Baaaackkk!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    I don't even remember..........

    What was before windows 95?
     
    Kristi, Jan 13, 2003
    #3
  4. James

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    well, for MS, Windows 3.1 was before 95 ;)
     
    James, Jan 13, 2003
    #4
  5. James

    Kristi I'm Baaaackkk!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Hmmm, I think we just had 95
     
    Kristi, Jan 13, 2003
    #5
  6. James

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Windows 98 for me
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 14, 2003
    #6
  7. James

    Killswitch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Mine was Windows 3.1
     
    Killswitch, Feb 14, 2003
    #7
  8. James

    barcode Mr CowBike VROOM!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    yeah, i remember the bad old days of windows 3.1

    Actually my first OS was something called HDM. (i think)
    Did anyone else ever use this???
     
    barcode, Feb 15, 2003
    #8
  9. James

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    HDM? Never heard of it. What's it stand for?
     
    James, Feb 15, 2003
    #9
  10. James

    barcode Mr CowBike VROOM!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    i don't know.

    all i have are vague memories of a simple blue and green interface...

    maybe i'm insane? who knows... :?
     
    barcode, Feb 15, 2003
    #10
  11. James

    JennyP

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Well, being THE only Mac person here at this point, I believe the first OS I used was an Apple (or was it Mac? I don't remember) OS 7.6. My son had an old TI that he played Zelda and Prince of Persia on, but I don't remember the OS for that as I never used it.

    (I know, I know, I GOTTA get that kid here soon! But he's working really weird hours and school full time so doesn't get much chance to do what his Mom wants him to do!)
     
    JennyP, Feb 21, 2003
    #11
  12. James

    perrynium

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Unknown Zone
    The first computer I ever got to touch was an APPLE 2. It was in high school, probably 1982. One machine for the whole school.(the office didn't even have one!) Isn't it amazing how things have changed?
     
    perrynium, Apr 9, 2003
    #12
  13. James

    dublczek CosmicJester

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I think it was the ZX81 or Timex/Sinclair 1000 or something like that. It had an amazing 8Kb ROM and 8Kb RAM. I think Sinclair even got knighted in the U.K. for it.
     
    dublczek, Apr 28, 2003
    #13
  14. James

    kernel

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    montreal

    Same but I don't miss those days :p
     
    kernel, Jun 2, 2003
    #14
  15. James

    Hubastank MASTA OF MASTA'S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kentucky
    mine was 3.1 as well...i do wish those days would have never came along i think they blew
     
    Hubastank, Aug 19, 2003
    #15
  16. James

    Richard1 Mod-Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Mine was a Radio Shack TSR-80 Color computer.
    And boy all my friends where jealous:roll
    Not sure about the OS though I think it was Basic Ver ?.??
     
    Richard1, Aug 21, 2003
    #16
  17. James

    jjjzr

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    win 3.1 quick to win95
     
    jjjzr, Aug 22, 2003
    #17
  18. James

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    I've never really been sporting the latest technology. My first "computer" was a Commodore 64...from there I went on to Commodore Amiga 500. Then it was an IBM PC XT clone, with 640 kb of ram and a 20 mb hd...not to mention the 5.25" drive. That is the first machine I used to get online with, on a 2400 baud modem and Windows 3.0's Terminal. Then, a Euro-Schneider AT 286, with 1 full mb of ram and a b/w display. but this baby had a 720 kb 3.5" fdd, so it was a charmer. You could run 3.1 on that since it was a 286. Then, I skipped the 386's entirely and went on to a 486, it was an authentic IBM PS/2... Ran Windows 3.11 on that, plus OS/2 Warp 3 (unbelievable system), and eventually Win95. Had a Microchannel bus so I couldn't use IDE drives, had to buy an SCSI cdrom drive, cost a fortune. Finally got myself a P166, I think it was a Compaq, with an onboard audio chip from Intel that gave me a few headaches. Ran W98 and W2k on that (W2k was great). It had a slightly bigger hd, I think about 4 gigs, and a CD-R drive. I bought a burner for it. Then I went on to have a Celeron 600, now that was a Compaq for sure, and it was pretty nice altogether. Win2k on that one, too. Now I have a Dell Dimension 4400, it's a 1.6 GHz machine, with close to 400 megs of ram, a 45 gig drive, a burner, zip and other stuff...Run XPpro on it, works nicely...
     
    Core, Aug 31, 2003
    #18
  19. James

    Empire895 NY Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ah... MEMORIES!!!

    My first computer was a Commodore VIC20 which had a whooping 4K of memory I believe. Then I moved up in the world to the Commodore 64 and then the 128... woohoo.

    The good old days... when sex was dirty and the air was clean.

    Of course at school we had the Apple 2 to play with.
     
    Empire895, Sep 18, 2003
    #19
  20. James

    Ops VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Apple IIe

    The best computer ever.
     
    Ops, Sep 18, 2003
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.