Weird Issue with SP2

Discussion in 'Software' started by k3o, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. k3o

    k3o My name is James VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Heres my situation: I have a Windows Installation CD which works perfectly. But it has one of the older builds of SP2 slipstreamed into it, therefore it will not/can not install DirectX 9.0c. I downloaded all of the updates just now, and it seemed to install SP2 properly, but when the loading bar shows up, I get the infamous 'loop restart'.

    SPECS:

    3Ghz P4
    512mb Ballistix RAM
    FX5200
    80GB Hard Disk

    Whats up?!

    I am reformatting for the third time in 2 days, please dont let me make four times!

    Thanks
    James
     
    k3o, Sep 27, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. k3o

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    What's the STOP code?
     
    James, Sep 27, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. k3o

    k3o My name is James VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    What do you mean? I don't get any output at all.
     
    k3o, Sep 28, 2005
    #3
  4. k3o

    k3o My name is James VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    I have sorted it.

    I put the 'bare' XP version on that I have, then upgraded to SP2 by myself. It suddenly worked fine. DirectX 9.0c is on and working great.

    Is there a way to make a snapshot of my installation, like an iso file, so that when I reformat I can just stick this image on and it will be done for me? I know Norton Ghost can do this, but I'm not in a mood for spending money, :p.

    James.
     
    k3o, Sep 28, 2005
    #4
  5. k3o

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Fenis-Wolf, Sep 29, 2005
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.