Weird disconnect problem

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by Esenthiel, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. Esenthiel

    Esenthiel

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    When connected to networks such as G2, Gnutella, eDonkey, and BitTorrent my entire network will disconnect for maybe a second or so (interestingly, it doesn't happen often at all on Soulseek) - but this causes all of the IM clients to disconnect, and it happens quite frequently. I am having problems pinpointing the source of the issue. My setup right now, I have a single Vonage router with three PCs hooked-up to it. This is a replacement router Vonage sent me - I thought the old one was causing the problem. Then the problem persisted, so I thought it was the wireless router I had hooked-up to the Vonage router that was causing the problem, but.... no.

    Any ideas out there?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2005
    Esenthiel, Oct 18, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Esenthiel

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    It's the FBI tunneling through your firewall.

    On a serious note, we cannot help anyone out if they have the listed applications on your network as they are most likley the cause of your problem and 95% used for warez. Have you tried removing that software and or system from your network?
     
    James, Oct 18, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Esenthiel

    Dave601 Web Guru VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Oh man...that joke just made my day.:lol2

    And also on a more serious note...get rid of the crap (G2, Gnutella, eDonkey) like James said and that will most likely solve your problem.
     
    Dave601, Oct 18, 2005
    #3
  4. Esenthiel

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    yeah like what james said get rid of those, because by THQ rules we cannot go on further to help with related warez
     
    davi99, Oct 19, 2005
    #4
  5. Esenthiel

    Esenthiel

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Shareaza and BT are not "warez" - they have legitimate uses (many many files are distributed on BT because programmers don't have the money to pay for mass amounts of bandwidth).

    But anyway, turns out my router is capable of supporting a fairly small number of connections before crapping out.

    On that note, does anyone know of a site that tells the maximum number of (not necessarily local) connections certain routers support?
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2005
    Esenthiel, Oct 20, 2005
    #5
  6. Esenthiel

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    on a local network I would prolly say about 40, to still be able to do stuff
     
    Goober, Oct 20, 2005
    #6
  7. Esenthiel

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Most manufacturers will tell in their technical manual. Most home routers can handle ~255 concurrent connections. I've seen some switches not be able to handle much throughput due to more chipset and or design.

    I don't like how VOIPs are handing out their poorly designed / featured routers to their home users. They used to give our a device that your phone would plug into and that device would than plug into your router. Cheap routers have low-end processors.
     
    James, Oct 20, 2005
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.