Website Builder

Discussion in 'Web Design & Coding' started by karansaraf, May 9, 2009.

1. karansaraf

karansaraf VIP Member

Hey,

I'm an amateur photographer and would like to set up a website to showcase my pictures. It would only be a simple site - homepage, contact page, about page, and many other "album" pages that would contain a number of photos, in thumbnailed galleries which when clicked would open up a popup of that image full size (or preferrably if possible open up a flash popup rather than a new window popup.)

Now, it's been many years since I first learned HTML, and even then it was only an basic to intermediate understanding of HTML at best. I now realise after perusing w3schools.com that some of what I learnt has since been outdated with HTML 4, or will soon be outdated with XHTML or HTML5 or later.

What I want to know is if there is a piece of software that will allow me to arrange the website to look how I want within the program and based on what I want to do/what I want it to look like ie. set all the links/background/colour/thumbnail galleries etc. it would convert all of that into the correct text code for me to upload as the page source code.

Is there a piece of software that would do this? I don't mind paying for a really good piece of software as long as it would fulfill all of my requirements.

I know I could just relearn HTML (and would probably need to learn CSS for what I'm going for), but I have a limited amount of time with being in medical school and my other commitments and it would really take me a long time to get to a stage where my knowledge would be appropriate to set up this website, and I was hoping for some sort of easy way out! Hehe

I would much appreciate it if someone could help me out!

Thank you.

EDIT: Using this page as an example:

http://www.andrewgransdenphotography.co.uk/weddings/portfolio.php