Web Redirect

Discussion in 'Web Design & Coding' started by Dave601, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. Dave601

    Dave601 Web Guru VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Okay, here is what I am looking for. I want someone to be able to type in www.mngin.org/info and then be directed to this page. Is there a way to do that? Thanks.
     
    Dave601, Jan 15, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dave601

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    using this code will auto redirect people from one page to another, after 5 seconds, changing '5' to say '1' will change the page after 1 second.
    this code has to go in the head tag of the html, hope it helps
    Code:
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5; url=http://www.mngin.org/index/educational-information/"> 
     
    Nickweb, Jan 15, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dave601

    Dave601 Web Guru VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I had actually tried that, but the problem is that you have to type www.mngin.org/info.htm. I kind of don't want the ".htm" on there if I don't have to and I swear I have seen this done on other websites.
     
    Dave601, Jan 15, 2007
    #3
  4. Dave601

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    There are several ways, my favorite, if using PHP:
    PHP:
    <?php
    header
    ("location: urlredirect");
    ?>
     
    James, Jan 15, 2007
    #4
  5. Dave601

    TheOneGreatX VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    US
    what if you make a folder at mngin.org with an index.html file containing the redirect code?
     
    TheOneGreatX, Jan 15, 2007
    #5
  6. Dave601

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Turn info into a folder, and inside of that folder create a file called index.html and use the code posted above to make this work. Even better is to make a file called index.php (if you have php access) and put the code James posted above into that.
    After those changes, any time someone enters url/info the browser will go into the info folder and execute either index.php or index.html
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Jan 16, 2007
    #6
  7. Dave601

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    You can also use HTACESS if you're using Apache.
     
    James, Jan 26, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.