using two different screen resolution

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Phil, Apr 18, 2004.

  1. Phil

    Phil VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I was wondering if there is a way to make it so that on my user i can use a different screen resolution then the another user. because i like the larger screen sizes (ex. 1024 x 768 and my dad is old and cant see as good so he likes 800 x 600) Is there a tweak to do this or is there some third party software that will do the trick?
     
    Phil, Apr 18, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Phil

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    You may want to look on Call For Help's website, I remember seeing a program that did this on there a while ago. I don't remember what it was called, though.
     
    undeadpenguin, Apr 18, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Phil

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    You do not need a 3rd party software to do this. You need to use what MS calls Hardware Profile. You need to setup another hardware profile and set the res to what you want, and when you turn on your PC, you will be given a choice of what you want to load.
     
    James, Apr 18, 2004
    #3
  4. Phil

    Phil VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    undead, do you know what month/ year you saw the show in???
     
    Phil, Apr 18, 2004
    #4
  5. Phil

    Phil VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Ok, so is there a way to associate a hardware profile with a certain user on windows xp??
     
    Phil, Apr 19, 2004
    #5
  6. Phil

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Not a certain user. You have a default profile, the one you're using now, set at 800x600. Now, if you created a new profile, and set the res. to 1024x768. When you turn on your PC, right after the POST it will ask you to select a profile.
     
    James, Apr 19, 2004
    #6
  7. Phil

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    But then you still have to select something. The other program made it so it would automatically do it once configured. I don't remember what month, but it was probably 2003... Maybe November, October, September?
     
    undeadpenguin, Apr 19, 2004
    #7
  8. Phil

    Phil VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yea i found a program at http://www.dougknox.com/ I clicks on Win XP utilities and then Keep User Dislpay Settings. This is a nice little program that does the trick:D. Thanks for the help anyways!
     
    Phil, Apr 20, 2004
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.