Toshiba Laptop Fn key not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Snarkler_98, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Snarkler_98

    Snarkler_98

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downgraded my Toshiba Satellite Pro 200 laptop (PSPB6A-17804M) from Windows 7 to XP to run old software that was unhappy running in 7 & now my function key does not work
    I'm sure this is a common problem - can anyone help?
     
    Snarkler_98, Aug 5, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Snarkler_98

    danperteet I broke it again. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Georgia
    You probably just need to install the Toshiba software that came pre-installed. I was gonna look and see if there was a copy that worked with XP, but I couldn't find a Pro 200. Is it A200- something?
     
    danperteet, Aug 6, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Snarkler_98

    clifford VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    11
    The best I could find was "Toshiba Satellite P200", which appears to be two different models. The only page that I could find that I would trust was for parts and didn't have drivers listed.
     
    clifford, Aug 6, 2010
    #3
  4. Snarkler_98

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
    S Walch, Aug 6, 2010
    #4
  5. Snarkler_98

    Snarkler_98

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx for that - is VirtualBox similar to XP Virtual Machine from Microsoft? Tried that & it ran sooooo slow
    Sorry about the Aust/NZ thing - 1st time user!!
     
    Snarkler_98, Aug 7, 2010
    #5
  6. Snarkler_98

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    lol no - VirtualBox is a far superior product and run's just fine :)

    No probs :)
     
    S Walch, Aug 7, 2010
    #6
  7. Snarkler_98

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia

    If it makes you feel any better, I wouldn't have thought it made a difference either.
     
    Zeus, Aug 7, 2010
    #7
  8. Snarkler_98

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    There are actually different model numbers for different collections of countries, usually due to the fact that we all don't use the exact same keyboard, and a few other bits and bobs :)
     
    S Walch, Aug 7, 2010
    #8
  9. Snarkler_98

    maxepotter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its not a hardware issue, the toshiba FN keys arent normal standard FN keys for generic laptops. They need special drivers to run. Its really hard to find them for windows xp if your laptop came with vista. If they work in vista and not windows xp its a driver problem. You might be able to find them online somewhere, but you need the drivers.

    [spam link removed by moderator: Nickweb]
     
    maxepotter, Oct 14, 2010
    #9
  10. Snarkler_98

    haileykrantz

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnepeg, Canada
    You need to contact customer support system.
     
    haileykrantz, Oct 18, 2010
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.