SpyBot German Error

Discussion in 'System Security & Infection Support' started by Hummingbird, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. Hummingbird

    Hummingbird VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    k guys, i've another one for ya'.

    my dad'c computer starting putting up this error message today when he runs SpyBot: Search & Destroy. i guess it's never done it before to him. i've never seen it on my pc when i run the prog.

    when he starts up Spybot a window pops up that says "Listenindex uberschreitet das Maximum (17)". then if you search for new updates to download it pops up again. if you download the new update and then search for problems, it pops up again. AND every time he restarts the prog the same new update is available even though it says that it DL'd correctly the time before.

    i did a google search, and there are a few other forums and stuff where people have asked about this same exact error sentence, BUT none of them were with SpyBot! they were while they were using other programs. so i dunno. and none had any answers except one person who said something like "well maybe you accidentally deleted a *.npj file".

    so any clues, oh great gurus? (hey that rhymes!) :p
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 9, 2006
    Hummingbird, Dec 8, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hummingbird

    Codex85 Mouse Potato VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    US
    If I had to guess, the error message sounds like "List index exceeds maximum," though I've no idea why it'd appear in German.

    The first thing I'd try is removing and re-installing Spybot.
     
    Codex85, Dec 8, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Hummingbird

    Crimson Devil's Advocate VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    If the program was natively written in German it would make sense, but the guy who wrote it wasn't German... I think he was American or English...

    Might be a native German virus....
     
    Crimson, Dec 9, 2006
    #3
  4. Hummingbird

    Hummingbird VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    i'm leaning more toward what crimson said, cuz i don't think it has to do with spybot neccessarily. the reason: those other posts on other forums i read about people having the same error message, but they weren't using spybot. each one i read, the person was using a different program when it happened.

    although i will have him un-install and re-install spybot.
     
    Hummingbird, Dec 9, 2006
    #4
  5. Hummingbird

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Uninstall and reinstall it.
    Spybot errors will often appear in German-Spybot I believe was written in German then translated. Most of the more obscure errors you see in Spybot still come up as German.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Dec 11, 2006
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.