Site Upgrade

Discussion in 'Announcements, Site Problems & Feedback' started by Ian, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. Ian

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    first off, good job.

    second, i like the design, but i think we have a little too much space at the top and bottom of each post inside the threads, maybe its due to the profile information at the side, i dunno

    i like the design i think :D

    EDIT, i know this is only for us mods, but i see no MOD CP for me?
     
    Nickweb, Feb 26, 2009
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    6
    The initial banner at the top had much wider graphics, the problem was that because the design is not fixed width it made for a huge image file and still ended short of most large monitors because it is not a fixed width design. Instead, I think I'm going to add a notifications area to the top right (or something similar).

    If there are quite a few others that aren't keen on the design, I'll re-code the old one and add that back as a 2nd option template :)

    I just haven't got round to adding a modcp button at the top - but you can still get to it using the link at the bottom of each page :) I'll add that today though.

    I know what you mean about the post spacing, it's because the left hand part of the profile takes up more space. I'll try changing the layout to the new vbulletin style of having the user info on the top rather than on the left in a few days time (so that other users can see the current style and compare).
     
    Ian, Feb 27, 2009
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    I just logged in and was like...

    [​IMG]

    The new look is fantastic. I have always preferred darker themes to bright ones (in most cases.) But I don't find this look to be too dark at all. I think it strikes a very nice and sophisticated balance.

    I am very glad you decided to do the buttons in text (as opposed to static images). It makes it easier to add new ones as need be. This was a concern I wanted to raise when you first started this thread but I was too tired at the time to post. I also love the way the new posts # and messages # is clearly visible separately in the right-hand corner. It looks much less cluttered this way.

    I only have one issue to raise, and this is the linguist in me talking... The slogan under the site title. Headquarters is typically spelled as one word; I'm not saying spelling it as two words is incorrect, I just have not usually seen it done that way. Also, the word "headquarters" should not, I think, be capitalized in this context unless each word in the slogan was capitalized:

    or
    Am I making sense or just being totally anal-retentive about this?

    Either way, great job, just a fantastic job on the new look, Ian.
     
    Core, Feb 27, 2009
    #23
  4. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    6
    Haha, I do see what you mean about it :lol2I'll update it now :)
     
    Ian, Feb 27, 2009
    #24
  5. Ian

    macrobt

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit area
    Looks nice, real smooth and easy to navigate. Nice job
     
    macrobt, Feb 27, 2009
    #25
  6. Ian

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia

    Hmmm....
     
    Zeus, Feb 27, 2009
    #26
  7. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ah yes, the subscription page won't be there now that it's been upgraded - I'm adding bits back slowly over the next week so I'll work on creating a subscribers page next week (along with some suitable goodies to go with it :D).
     
    Ian, Feb 27, 2009
    #27
  8. Ian

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    nice work mate, i like it
     
    Nickweb, Feb 27, 2009
    #28
  9. Ian

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    There any chance you could make it clearer as to which forum has a new post in it?

    Like greyed out icons or something...
     
    S Walch, Mar 1, 2009
    #29
  10. Ian

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    The old techie hq icon is still in the url bar ;)
     
    Goober, Mar 2, 2009
    #30
  11. Ian

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    That's alright by me. I like the old favicon.
     
    Core, Mar 2, 2009
    #31
  12. Ian

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    I gotta agree with Core on this one.
     
    Zeus, Mar 2, 2009
    #32
  13. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    6
    I kept the old favicon as I thought it was pretty good :D

    Yep, I'll work on that today :)
     
    Ian, Mar 2, 2009
    #33
  14. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    6
    The new post indicator should now be live - if there is a new post the forum icon will have a green plus next to it:

    [​IMG]
     
    Ian, Mar 2, 2009
    #34
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. --= Ö§âmâ ßíñ Këñ0ßí =--

    Re: celeron 433 128mb- upgrade ram, or upgrade cpu?

    --= Ö§âmâ ßíñ Këñ0ßí =--, Jan 2, 2004, in forum: PC Hardware
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    459
    --= Ö§âmâ ßíñ Këñ0ßí =--
    Jan 2, 2004
  2. Conor
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    450
    Conor
    Jan 2, 2004
  3. DaveW
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    391
    DaveW
    Jan 2, 2004
  4. Arawak
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    499
    Mr. Slow
    Mar 3, 2004
  5. Bob Fry

    Vista upgrade delay? FTC complaint site

    Bob Fry, Jun 8, 2007, in forum: PC Hardware
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    335
    Alfred Einstein
    Jun 13, 2007
  6. bbgruff
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    381
    bbgruff
    Nov 6, 2010
  7. TVeblen
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    454
    TVeblen
    Nov 7, 2010
  8. Man-wai Chang
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    368
    Man-wai Chang
    Nov 8, 2010
Loading...