Server Move

Discussion in 'Announcements, Site Problems & Feedback' started by Ian, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    In the new few moments I'm going to move TechieHQ to a new server - which should solve 2 problems in 1 :).

    The new server is of similar power, but has more recent software (hosting control panel, MySQL, etc...) which should solve some problems. There is also a RAID 1 array which will eliminate some hard drive failure modes (although I still keep daily backups :D).

    Fingers crossed for a smooth switchover ;)
     
    Ian, Feb 24, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    All done :D
     
    Ian, Feb 24, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    Maurice Bloody good bloke VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    London England
    never felt a thing :)
     
    Maurice, Feb 25, 2011
    #3
  4. Ian

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    nor me, well done
     
    Nickweb, Feb 25, 2011
    #4
  5. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks guys, it's always a relief when the transfer goes smoothly :)
     
    Ian, Feb 27, 2011
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.