Removing vocals

Discussion in 'Software' started by undeadpenguin, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. undeadpenguin

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    Is there a way to remove vocals from a song? My mother is putting on some kind of a play or something and wants me to do it to a couple of songs. If so, what program can do it? I was thinking Audacity, but I couldn't figure out how, so if you can do it in Audacity please enlighten me as to how, and if you can't, what program can you do it in?

    @Moderator: There was no audio manipulation forum so I didn't know where to put this, and since the software is going to have to be for *nix, I figured I'd just post it here. If you disagree with the location, please move it ;)
     
    undeadpenguin, Apr 7, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. undeadpenguin

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    I'm not positive that there is an easy way to cut the vocals out of a song.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Apr 7, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. undeadpenguin

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    ****zit. Oh well, it doesn't really matter.

    [edit]
    Why was s h i z *'ed out, but not the whole thing??
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2004
    undeadpenguin, Apr 7, 2004
    #3
  4. undeadpenguin

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Get your hands on the original masters, that's the only thing I can think of. I don't think there is any other way to properly do it. Well, perhaps the FBI has some equip that could do some sort of a job, but I doubt that the outcome would be that great.

    As for your issue #2, I've no clue. Won't lose any sleep over it, tho.
     
    Core, Apr 7, 2004
    #4
  5. undeadpenguin

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    AnalogX does this, but it's for Windows. Looks like you will have to do it on the 98 machine you're always browsing the forums with. ;)

    Some stereos do this also.
     
    James, Apr 7, 2004
    #5
  6. undeadpenguin

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    Hehe, I doubt that machine can handle it... everything is all messed up on that, and, since I'll be building a new one for them over the summer, I don't really care to fix it. It's hilarious, if you put a floppy in it blue screens :lol.

    [edit]
    And anyway, all the music is on my comp (which doesn't really make sense considering my hard drive is dead and my power supply keeps giving out on me). ***, I just realize everything I touch breaks. I've had 3 hard drives die in 9 months, a bad PSU, my mobo was fried. In shop class, I made a stool and somehow splintered the wood on all four corners and drilled the screws through the side by accident. In home economics we made pants. I accidently sewed my fronts to fronts and backs to backs, so I had to redo everything. I am terrible at stuff... :help
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2004
    undeadpenguin, Apr 8, 2004
    #6
  7. undeadpenguin

    Phil VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hey i also need to do this to a song, do you download the one called "Scratch" under the WAVE utilities??? where is AnalogX????
     
    Phil, Apr 8, 2004
    #7
  8. undeadpenguin

    Bubba Gump XBL: John Voda VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Minnesota
    It's called Vocal Remover.
     
    Bubba Gump, Oct 14, 2004
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.