Password page

Discussion in 'Web Design & Coding' started by sammy004, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. sammy004

    sammy004

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi guys I have a website for my company but I would like to add a dealers page where I can give them a password and they only they can enter and noone else how can I do that. I'm using Front page and my site is bassandstyle.com. any help would be appreciated.
     
    sammy004, Jul 9, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sammy004

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    That depends on what you have running the backend of your site. IIS, Apache, MSSQL, MySQL.
     
    James, Jul 9, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sammy004

    sammy004

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    oh sh*T i don't know how do I find that out.
     
    sammy004, Jul 10, 2005
    #3
  4. sammy004

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    if you are just using basic html, with no other language, you can use java, but it's not very secure at all, i'd reccomend using some encryption as mentioned above
     
    Nickweb, Jul 10, 2005
    #4
  5. sammy004

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    In the hosting control panel you can usually password protect directories. This is probably the most secure method you have available to you, and the easiest. Then you put a link on the website to that directory and when a user first clicks on it they get a nice username/password box.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Jul 10, 2005
    #5
  6. sammy004

    sammy004

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    so i can do this right through frontpage
     
    sammy004, Jul 10, 2005
    #6
  7. sammy004

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    No, not through Frontpage. Through the web host. Your webhost will have a control panel where you can control various settings for that domain-such as create and manage email accounts, check how much space you're usuing, and those kinds of things.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Jul 10, 2005
    #7
  8. sammy004

    sammy004

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    oh yeah ok i'll check that out
     
    sammy004, Jul 10, 2005
    #8
  9. sammy004

    miraculous

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Sammy, first you have to make that extra page a subweb.

    Once you do that, open your website LIVE through Frontpage. (You have to be very careful here when your site is open live)

    Then go to the top of the screen (Frontpage) and click on Tools.......Then Server.....Then administration home.......

    You will have to to know your password here to get in

    A new page will open, and this is the area where you can add new users and assign them all passwords to the "subweb" or password protected page.
     
    miraculous, Jul 10, 2005
    #9
  10. sammy004

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Well, since you are unsure, I'd ask your webhost what your options are. Most likley the easiest way to accomplish your goal is to HTACCESS your page(s) as Fenis suggested... that is if you have apache installed. You can accomplish this with IIS as well.
     
    James, Jul 11, 2005
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.