Opera 9 and IE7..

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by S Walch, Aug 5, 2006.

  1. S Walch

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    Why is it that when viewing webpages in Opera 9 and comparing them to IE7, the way that opera displays the font is different to that of IE7?

    IE7 it seems to be running on "true-type" font or whatever, yet Opera 9 seems to not be doing...

    Is there a way to do so?
     
    S Walch, Aug 5, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. S Walch

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    I don't know, I don't use Opera. But I have noticed that text on web pages looks "softer" on IE7 than it does on IE6 or Firefox. I don't know why, but it looks good.
     
    Core, Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. S Walch

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    IE 7 has an option that enables ClearType on fonts, Opera does not nor IE6. Now you can enable ClearType manuall via the Control Panel and it'll apply everywhere in Windows. I believe this is what you mean by that SW?
     
    James, Aug 6, 2006
    #3
  4. S Walch

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    Yes, that's the one James.

    Aye, it does!

    Right, next question then:

    Is there away to set a webpage to force the writing to be in Cleartype?
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2006
    S Walch, Aug 6, 2006
    #4
  5. S Walch

    Dave601 Web Guru VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Hmm, very good question. I would also be interested in this answer.
     
    Dave601, Aug 6, 2006
    #5
  6. S Walch

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    I don't think so, I do not know of any CSS or JS way of doing this.
     
    James, Aug 7, 2006
    #6
  7. S Walch

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    How do you enable ClearType in Windows?
     
    Core, Aug 7, 2006
    #7
  8. S Walch

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    Oh, o.k :(

    Well, I did it as:

    Start - Programs - Control Panel - Classical View - Cleartype Tuning - tick box

    That's about it.
     
    S Walch, Aug 7, 2006
    #8
  9. S Walch

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Strange. This doesn't exist for me.
     
    Core, Aug 7, 2006
    #9
  10. S Walch

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    S Walch has the Windows XP Power Toy installed for ClearType Tuning, for you Core, go to Display Properties | Advanced | Effects.
     
    James, Aug 7, 2006
    #10
  11. S Walch

    karansaraf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I just changed from Standard to ClearType and my eyes hurt! Everything looks all blurry! (well, compared to before, which was crisp and all sharp edges etc). Probably because I'm used to it.
     
    karansaraf, Aug 13, 2006
    #11
  12. S Walch

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    What type of monitor do you have?
     
    James, Aug 13, 2006
    #12
  13. S Walch

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Interestingly, there is nothing there about ClearType... Perhaps it isn't supported on my system for some odd reason.
     
    Core, Aug 14, 2006
    #13
  14. S Walch

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    You could have it disabled via some system tuning. If you want, go to MS' power toys section and install the CTT application- it has more options than the built-in CTT app.
     
    James, Aug 14, 2006
    #14
  15. S Walch

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    That certainly worked. Thanks James.

    I also noticed during the setup wizard that ClearType is intended for LCDs and laptop monitors. I am using the old-fashioned CRT kind of monitor.

    I can see where someone may find it blurry. In a sense, I agree, it is a bit hard on the eyes for some reason. However, I think it looks a lot better. I am going to leave it for now and see if I can get used to it. If my eyes get used to it, I'd like to keep it. It looks like everything I type is a PDF document. Very cool.
     
    Core, Aug 15, 2006
    #15
  16. S Walch

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    It's mainly for LCDs, but on certain CRT monitors it looks good.
     
    James, Aug 15, 2006
    #16
  17. S Walch

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Looks good on mine. My eyes are already accustomed to it. I'mma keep it like this.
     
    Core, Aug 15, 2006
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.