Odd Color Problem

Discussion in 'Media Workshop' started by spfBounty, Aug 9, 2005.

  1. spfBounty

    spfBounty L33T G4m3r

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Hey guys,

    I have a Mini-DV camera that I use quite a bit now. I use a IEEE Firewire cable to upload my movies.

    When I upload my movies, the preview screen on both Windows Movie Maker, and Adobe Premiere Elements show it extremely grainy, it doesnt show proper coloring. In that I mean, everything is off, it shows my green carpet like white, my black dog as grey, and all the colors are all messed up.

    Could this possibly be a missing codec? Any suggestions? Thanks a bunch guys. I have a surfing video to edit for my sponsor and its due in 3 days. So I need to get this fixed!! lol

    Thanks again guys

    btw, if you want specs of my GPU, its below---

    Nvidia 6800 GT 256mb
    With latest Nvidia drivers
     
    spfBounty, Aug 9, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. spfBounty

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Does it look good after its been captured?
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Aug 9, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. spfBounty

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    does it look like this on the camera? does it look like this in the avi file?
     
    spike228, Aug 9, 2005
    #3
  4. spfBounty

    spfBounty L33T G4m3r

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Yes, the Capture screen on the computer looks horrible, everything is wacked out. But once its capture, its normal.
     
    spfBounty, Aug 9, 2005
    #4
  5. spfBounty

    spfBounty L33T G4m3r

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Its looks normal on the camera. When I upload videos, I always pull out my LCD screen. Looks perfect on there.
     
    spfBounty, Aug 9, 2005
    #5
  6. spfBounty

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    it could be a problem with the firewire port or the firewire cable. if you have more than one firewire port, try the other ones as well. if they are controlled by the same controller, then try getting a PCI firewire card.

    i highly doubt it's the cable but you never know.
     
    spike228, Aug 10, 2005
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.