Norton Antivirus with LAN

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by Sandoo, Jul 9, 2004.

  1. Sandoo

    Sandoo Guy who "Knows"

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sommerville
    Hey ppl!

    Got a quick question for ya! I got 5 computers and one of them is an Internet Gateway. It is running Norton Anti-Virus 2003 and so are all the other machines. I want to be able to update the gateway's NAV and give all the other computers on the LAN the updated defenitions and programs files etc. I will do all this with a copy command in a logon script - BUT all I want to know is what files to copy!!!!

    Thanks in advance

    -Matt
     
    Sandoo, Jul 9, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sandoo

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    I'm not sure that there is an easy way to do this via the automatic update that Norton provides. As far as I know, it doesn't save the files it gets off the internet, it downloads them, processes it and then rolls it into its databases then chucks the files.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Jul 9, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sandoo

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    I don't think this is possible with the home version. You can do this with NAV Corp. edition though. We just spent $62k at work to renew our 6k+ licenses. :)
     
    James, Jul 9, 2004
    #3
  4. Sandoo

    Sandoo Guy who "Knows"

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sommerville
    Then, is it possible to do this with, say Trend Micro Products or McAfee?
     
    Sandoo, Jul 12, 2004
    #4
  5. Sandoo

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Only if they offer a corp. edition that is designed to do what you're looking for.
     
    James, Jul 12, 2004
    #5
  6. Sandoo

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    We had a crudy set up for awhile at the school when I worked there. We had a script that would go out every day and go to mcaffee's ftp site, and it would look in a certain directory for a file with a number that was greater than the last file it downloaded. Then it would fetch it, and stick it in a directory on the server. Then each client had a bat file it ran on start up that checked that folder for a file that was newer than the last one.
    I think it was a perl script, and it worked fairly well. It wasn't the best though, so we upgraded and it did it all for us.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Jul 12, 2004
    #6
  7. Sandoo

    Sandoo Guy who "Knows"

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sommerville
    thanks James and Fenis - i'll c if i can get a corp. edition. in the meantime I'll look into what Fenis was talking about.

    Later!

    -Matt
     
    Sandoo, Jul 12, 2004
    #7
  8. Sandoo

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Yikes the scripting thing sounds nasty. I hope it's worth paying the $$ for the corp edition for such a small amount of computers...
     
    James, Jul 12, 2004
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.