Newbie Home Network help needed

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by JAWS, Sep 19, 2003.

  1. JAWS

    JAWS

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Co.
    I set up a small network using my desk top and my lap top.
    Im running XP Pro On my desktop and XP home on my laptop.
    I got the file sharing to work using the set up wizard but I`m not able to connect to my Aol broadband on my laptop my desk top connection is working fine.
    Can anyone help me walkthrough this mess?
     
    JAWS, Sep 19, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. JAWS

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Hi, do you have DSL or cable through AOL? How is everything setup?

    If you have DSL it's possible to share your connection with a router or w/o one- but that's harder.
     
    James, Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. JAWS

    JAWS

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Co.
    My Setup

    I do not have a router.

    I use AOL for broadband (dsl i guess broadband always on type)

    My modem brand name is "Actiontech Home DSL modem". It`s a external modem connected to a PCI NIC in my desktop computer with a rj-45 cable thats labeled one end to modem one end to computer(suplied with modem)
    My desktop computer has a second PCI NIC and it connects to my laptop with a RJ-45 crossover cable.

    Thanks hope this is everything you need to know.
     
    JAWS, Sep 19, 2003
    #3
  4. JAWS

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ok, so you do have AOL's DSL. W/O a router you will have to use ICS (Internet Sharing Connection). It's pretty easy to setup with Windows XP. One PC will have to be the server (your desktop) and the others will be clients.

    Let us know if you want some help with ICS.
     
    James, Sep 19, 2003
    #4
  5. JAWS

    JAWS

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Co.
    ICS Help

    Yes I Have attempted to use the internet connection sharing feature that windows comes with, but have had no luck, lots of vauge and conflicting information on the web about this subject.

    Also have tried using a little proxy server program called analog X
    also without success.

    I have been doing alot of manually settings adjustments like IP adress ,port ,and protocols etc. And cant even share files between them now.

    Heres what I see under Network Connections Desktop Computer:
    Catagory: Lan or High Speed Internet
    Local area connection #3 - Enabled (NIC connected to crossover )
    Local area connection #4 - Enabled,shared,firewalled (NIC to modem)
    Heres what I see under Network Connections on my laptop:
    Catagory:Lan or High speed internet
    Local area connection - Enabled
    ( Also a new category on laptop called ): Intenet Gateway
    Local Area Connection 4 on desktop - Enabled
     
    JAWS, Sep 20, 2003
    #5
  6. JAWS

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ok, remove all of your connections so you are starting from scratch.

    On your desktop, get your NIC to see your modem and access the net. Once that is done, get your other NIC working (not accessing the internet or your laptop).

    Now, you want to setup ICS. Probably your NIC will have an internal IP of 192.168.0.1, which is fine. Once you have ICS setup on your desktop, make sure you can still get to the net.

    If you can, go to your laptop and on the properties of your NIC, put your IP as 192.168.0.2 and your DNS as 192.168.0.1 (whatever your desktop IP is). Also do this for the gateway I belive.

    Now check to see if it can access the net, if it can that good. Make sure you can share files now too.

    This is not the best way to share a connection, but if that's all you can do than that's fine too.

    Hope this helped some.
     
    James, Sep 20, 2003
    #6
  7. JAWS

    JAWS

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Co.
    solved problem thanks

    Got my 2 computer network going.
    Thanks a million I can share files and browse internet from both now. Had to use analog x proxy server software to get it to work ICS was not being very coaperative. Maybe it is my firewall software messing with it or me anyway works now.

    Thanks again
     
    JAWS, Sep 21, 2003
    #7
  8. JAWS

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    That's good that it's working now. ;)
     
    James, Sep 21, 2003
    #8
  9. JAWS

    JAWS

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Co.
    Works but...

    I can browse and download from my laptop (client) but it won`t establish a connection to my online gambling site.
    Any suggestions???
     
    JAWS, Sep 22, 2003
    #9
  10. JAWS

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    What's the error message? It might be trying to get back through to your connection on a port that your firewall has blocked. If you have the error that might tell the port, if not the site should tell you.
     
    James, Sep 22, 2003
    #10
  11. JAWS

    lanzahypno

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    That sounds familiar James! Just like the backgammon problem I have which by the way is still unresolved!
    Mike
     
    lanzahypno, Sep 24, 2003
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.