New computer nothing but problems , why WHY? :(

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by boxrick, Dec 31, 2003.

  1. boxrick

    boxrick

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    When i first built my system:-

    Asus p4p800 - vm motherboard
    1 GB pc 3200 ddr ram
    pentium 3.0ghz 800 fsb
    Powercolour radeon 9800 XT 256 mb
    80 GB hard drive

    i bought a hercules radeon 9800 pro 256 mb, and used that in it for a month ( took it back due to it being faulty booting up with lines accross the screen and getting artifacts ingames ) , so then while i was waiting for the XT to come out i used a geforce MX 420 , and seriously overclocked it and ran that for a month , and it seemed incredibly stable never froze ingames etc etc, the only game i had trouble with was splintercell all my other games including ut 2003 ran in full spec on 1280 x1024 quite happily..

    Anyway i finally got my new radeon 9800 XT and it seemed to run like a dream , i uninstalled the older nvidia drivers and tryed to manually clear out the registry, and installed the latest ones from the ATI website.

    However this graphics card started freezing up ingames after playing them for a while ( star wars galaxies mainly ) i thought this was due to the power supply , so i decided to upgraded my system i bought a nice new CPU fan , a centurion coolermaster case and a qtec 550 W psu.

    However i thought the problem was solved, but just recently it has started freezing up again, when it freezes sometimes it tries to load the blue screen of death , and then no writing comes up other times everything just gives up the mouse light goes off and i get a nasty fizzling sound from my speakers till i reboot.

    I have recently formatted the hard drive and turned off fast write and im still having problems

    So whats the problem due to?

    Faulty motherboard?
    Power supply still not good enough?
    Or is it something simple like a conflict which is causing it too freeze up ?

    www.fireshroud.co.uk/crash1.jpg <---- this is when the computer crashed it gradually rose cpu temperature until it was a stable 55 degrees then it froze , maybe this is the problem ? ( line is on the crash point )

    www.fireshroud.co.uk/crash2.jpg <--- the line is on the crash point again ( the voltages seem pretty stable so not a psu problem ... )

    www.fireshroud.co.uk/crash3.jpg <--- temps again from earlier yesterday , no crash and a stable 55 degress when ingame ...
     
    boxrick, Dec 31, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. boxrick

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    What does the memory dump say? Go to Admin Tools and Event Viewer, then System log.

    Also, are you using the CAT 3.10 drivers with DX9b?
     
    James, Jan 1, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. boxrick

    Kenny03

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver, canada
    im just guessing here but could it be that ur vid card is not compatible with ur motherboard
     
    Kenny03, Jan 1, 2004
    #3
  4. boxrick

    boxrick

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    boxrick, Jan 1, 2004
    #4
  5. boxrick

    Heretic_Gate

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    what sound card you have in there? onboard? btw what program is that? looks handy...:p
     
    Heretic_Gate, Jan 1, 2004
    #5
  6. boxrick

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Probably the System Error logs, but is that the time your PC has crashed?
     
    James, Jan 1, 2004
    #6
  7. boxrick

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    With Radeons, a good rule of thumb is to use the drivers shipped with the card, and not upgrade to newer drivers unless something isn't working. Might want to try that.
     
    Core, Jan 1, 2004
    #7
  8. boxrick

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    You must of had bad experiences with Radeons. I've had about 4 or 5, most the older generations and 2 that are new. They all are running CAT 3.10s with no issues.

    Happy new year everyone!
     
    SwordWielder, Jan 1, 2004
    #8
  9. boxrick

    boxrick

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    im using a creative pci sound card.
    and using catalyst 3.9 at the moment

    the other pci is an isdn pci card
     
    boxrick, Jan 2, 2004
    #9
  10. boxrick

    boxrick

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    asus probe
     
    boxrick, Jan 2, 2004
    #10
  11. boxrick

    boxrick

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
  12. boxrick

    boxrick

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    boxrick, Jan 2, 2004
    #12
  13. boxrick

    sashswash

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    After doing a bunch of google searches, i've found this thread! My computer is doing the same crash types. Sometimes it doesn't do it for a while, but other times it does it a few times in a day. Also, certain things always crash it. My symptoms are: the mouse light turns off, and i get the "crackling" effect in my speakers, and my mouse pointer becomes unresponsive. Since i have an AIW video card, i can watch TV. Usually, the TV will keep playing even though the mouse has locked up. Sometimes i get the "crackling/static" in the speakers, other times i dont. Here is my specs:

    2.8 P4
    Intel d845pesv MB
    ati AIW 9700 pro
    1024 ram
    two 60 GB hd's
    soundblaster audigy 2 pci
    windows xp home

    were you successful in figuring out your problem? If so, please respond ASAP. Thanks!
     
    sashswash, Oct 10, 2004
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.