need upgrade for Call of Duty 4

Discussion in 'System Building & Upgrades' started by ruslanb76, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. ruslanb76

    ruslanb76 pivo prosim VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    Hey gang. Long time since I've posted, but I really want to get Call of Duty 4 and want to know what I can keep from my current setup towards a potential new one.
    AMD 2500XP
    Biostar M7NCD Pro
    1 gig DDR ram
    128mb9200 Radeon
    500 OC powersupply

    Thinking the hard drives (IDE)..and the power supply are all I can really use towards a new build. Any thoughts? I want to go inexpensive if poss. What would you recommend for a decent but cost effective setup for this game? Dual core Pentium? GIve me some ideas if you can. Thanks.
     
    ruslanb76, Nov 12, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ruslanb76

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    The RAM might be salvageable-whats the specs on it?
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Nov 12, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ruslanb76

    ruslanb76 pivo prosim VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    pc 3200 DDR 400. I was thinking of pricing out a low end Pentium dual core and new mb. These run DD2 or 3 right? I was figuring I could keep the case, power supply and the IDE hard drives until I can get some SATAII drives if it's worthwhile.
     
    ruslanb76, Nov 12, 2007
    #3
  4. ruslanb76

    Codex85 Mouse Potato VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    US
    Your current motherboard takes 184-pin modules, so you won't be able to salvage the RAM if you want a newer motherboard. The PSU should still be sufficient, however, and you can of course use your current case and hard drives.

    For gaming, I'd suggest a Core 2 Duo processor. They're cheap and fast, particularly now that more games are supporting multiple CPUs.
     
    Codex85, Nov 12, 2007
    #4
  5. ruslanb76

    ruslanb76 pivo prosim VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    what about the AMD X2 processors? The X24600 can be had for a measily 85 bucks...is this any good? I know the Pentium Core Duo's are the ones to go for now, but for a budget would the performance be worthwhile with the AMD's?
     
    ruslanb76, Nov 13, 2007
    #5
  6. ruslanb76

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Well lets ask the question, what is your price range?

    Like Codex said you should be able to keep your PSU, HDD, case, and CD-Rom drives, so that saves about 150-250 dollars.

    I pulled this really quickly(its not the best, but will be able to play COD4 pretty well):
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=10005924
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=10005883-OP
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80098-35
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=10006035

    All for 316 USD
     
    Goober, Nov 13, 2007
    #6
  7. ruslanb76

    ruslanb76 pivo prosim VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    thanks. this gives me some ideas to work with...I'm so lost on vid cards now...def got to do some reading. last I remembered the hot card was the 8600 series.. things have changed.
    As for the CPU does AMD have any advantage at all with the X2 series? I'm confused as to how to interpret the numbers (eg X2 4600) since I'm used to single core and thier clock speeds. EG my xp2500 is comparable to a Pentium 4 running 2.5ghz. How much do I really need so that I can run this for the next 5 years or so? My Xp has been with my since 02.
     
    ruslanb76, Nov 13, 2007
    #7
  8. ruslanb76

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Honestly, I don't know anything about the AM2 and X2 processors.
     
    Goober, Nov 14, 2007
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.