Need suggestions on building computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by davi99, May 11, 2004.

  1. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    im gonna be build a computer soon and i want to know what kind of good Amd processor there is and not that much costly too ...thinking of Amd Athlon 2400+ ,but dont know which core is good, and getting some corsair ram ,512 mb, probably making it 2 or 1 gigs and dont know which kind of corsair is good...trying to make my computer for gaming and programming stuff....:? :?
     
    davi99, May 11, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. davi99

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Programming doesn't matter. You can program on a 233 p2. Code compiling doesn't take too much power, unless you're compiling a whole distro from scratch.
    The 2400+ is around 2 gigahertz if I remember correctly, and should be solid for a gaming pc. Corsair makes good memory. 512 is ample for a gaming machine. Make sure its DDR, and at least 333mhz. The key to a gaming machine is to have a decent processor, it doesn't have to be super fast, but you need to have a good video card. At least an ATI 9600 with 128 megs of RAM.
    Also, if you go with a SATA hard drive, you'll notice faster load times because your computer can shift information from the hard drive into memory quite a bit faster.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, May 11, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. davi99

    Steve VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Albert, Canad
    I would buy the Barton 2500+ over the 2400, just because the price is good. I bought mine for $120 CND or $87 US. If your building a computer I would NOT be cheap with the motherboard, becuase thats one of the most important pieces. If you get a good motherboard, down the road you can upgrade your CPU, which is good. A motherboard I would suggest would be the ASUS boards, A7N8X delux is good and a good price. Have a look around where your buying your parts and research the chipset on the motherboard, then you KNOW what you can have and what can't. Also, get a good chasis and a good Power Supply, quality is what you need.
     
    Steve, May 11, 2004
    #3
  4. davi99

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Are you stuck on getting an AMD? Intel CPU and board prices are lowering some now so they may be in your range. What is your range?
     
    James, May 11, 2004
    #4
  5. davi99

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    Gigabyte Make some great AMD Motherboards, plus you can get one that'll be able to get up to an AMD 3400+, so down the line you can upgrade to a faster processor.

    512 MB RAM is ample enough for most machines, but I find that my 1 GB of RAM is so much better than just having 512 MB, and would suggest getitng that if it's not too expensive over in the states (£60 for 512 MB DDr 400 over here)
     
    S Walch, May 11, 2004
    #5
  6. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    well i already have a antec sonata case that im using rite now for my 800 mhz comp ...well i was thing of getting a corsair ddr4000 (500mhz) and i get 2 or the 512 and get 1ghz ...hmm do they add up???
     
    davi99, May 12, 2004
    #6
  7. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    oh how about a abit mother board ...or a lan party motherboard
    James: well i dont know which Processor i want intel has .9 micron and amd has .13 micron but intel has 800mhz FSB and Amd has 233mhz FSB and dont know which is best...uhh my price range is probably below 500 or 400 us dollars
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2004
    davi99, May 12, 2004
    #7
  8. davi99

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Higher the FSB the better, but your board has to support it. I'd look into the 865Perl board from Intel or the 875p board and a 2.6 GHz HT CPU from Intel as well. Both priced pretty good right now.

    What type of video card are you looking to buy? If you're not going to over clock your memory, I would not bother with Corsair's special OC' memory, go with Crucial.
     
    James, May 12, 2004
    #8
  9. davi99

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    Don't listen to James' propaganda. AMD and Intel's perform equally well and, since AMD's are cheaper, I'd recommend them. The only issue you could have with an AMD is heat.

    [edit]
    And get something like a 2500+ to a 2800+.
     
    undeadpenguin, May 12, 2004
    #9
  10. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    james i hae most of the stuff already just i need a mobo upgrade, processor upgrade and memory ...im gonna stick with crosair make my computer run faster and better
     
    davi99, May 12, 2004
    #10
  11. davi99

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    I agree w/ James on Intel. AMD is not bad, but if you want a pimp gaming system then you should go with an Intel for better performance. Not tryin to start a flame war either.
     
    SwordWielder, May 12, 2004
    #11
  12. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    im really not sure which is better intel or amd ..i need statistics
     
    davi99, May 12, 2004
    #12
  13. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    ok this is what i want a fast performance quiet computer--used for gaming video editing photo editing and programming and overclockable
     
    davi99, May 13, 2004
    #13
  14. davi99

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    You can overclock with AMD and Intel. For Intel, overclocking is best since they don't get as hot as AMD. You'd have to get an Asus Intel board for the over clocking features.
     
    James, May 13, 2004
    #14
  15. davi99

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    AMD's are easier to overclock than Pentiums. I'd recommend Asus as well. However, I'd also tell you you're an idiot (for lack of a better word) for wanting to overclock in this day and age. You'll see no noticable speed difference and probably burn your CPU to a crisp, no matter what kind you get. It voids the warantee, too. When a 2500+ is only like $80, overclocking is entirely useless.

    Just my 2 cents.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2004
    undeadpenguin, May 13, 2004
    #15
  16. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    what board can support overclock for amd..
     
    davi99, May 13, 2004
    #16
  17. davi99

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    ..depends on how far you want to overclock it o_0

    You could always get a board that supports up to 400 FSB and buy a 333 FSB processor (2400-2800+ XP) and bump it up a little, but I'd suggest not overclocking if you don't know what you're doing.
     
    S Walch, May 13, 2004
    #17
  18. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    well i dont care i can always buy new processor i dont mind at all.......but how about this mobo GIGABYTE "GA-7DPXDW-P" AMD-760 MPX Chipset Server Motherboard for Dual AMD Socket A CPU
     
    davi99, May 13, 2004
    #18
  19. davi99

    Bubba Gump XBL: John Voda VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I agree about how overclocking is dumb.
     
    Bubba Gump, May 14, 2004
    #19
  20. davi99

    davi99 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chi-town
    ok never mind about the overclocking....but i still dont know which processor is better for gaming photo editing, counterstrike server....etc..
     
    davi99, May 14, 2004
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.