Missing Icon Pics!!! Need Help!!! Pics Included!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by peter, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. peter

    peter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chi-Town, Illi
    [​IMG]

    I Know its a bit hard to see, but if you CAN see, those are the missing icons. The icons still work. Its just that theres no icon picture. and yes, excuse the messy-ness of my computer :) . i have tried the program, tweakui, and it did nothing. it happened when i alt tabbed out of a game and saw this. i believe that is why there are missing picture icons. PLEASE HELP!!! THIS IS TICKING ME OFF AND IT MAKES IT SO HARD FOR ME TO FIND THE PROGRAMS I WANT TO GO IN.
     
    peter, Dec 29, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. peter

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    are you sure those files still exhist? the only way i can think of where files suddenly lose their original icons is if the target file was deleted while the shortcut is still on the desktop.

    make sure those target files are still actually there (from the looks of it, all the ones that are affected are all shortcuts). if they are, try checking the target location.

    if the target files are fine, try remaking the shortcuts. if the target files are not there, you have to reinstall those files.
     
    spike228, Dec 29, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. peter

    peter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chi-Town, Illi
    yeah, all my files are still there. none are deleted and a couple of them are not shortcuts; my computer, my documents, and internet explorer, and maybe some other ones.
     
    peter, Dec 29, 2005
    #3
  4. peter

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    for "my computer, my documents, ect" try disabling them and try re-enabling them. i also believe that there are different icon sets you can choose under themes. try re-applying the icon theme if disabling and re-enabling those icons don't work.
     
    spike228, Dec 29, 2005
    #4
  5. peter

    peter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chi-Town, Illi
    that did not work either.

    and by the way, i also rebooted the computer and also system restored it. so those ideas didnt work either
     
    peter, Dec 29, 2005
    #5
  6. peter

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Right mouse click on the icon shorcut > Click on Properties > Click on Change Icon > Just click on the Icon its supposed to be > Click on Ok for everthing
     
    Goober, Dec 29, 2005
    #6
  7. peter

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    i have a feeling its going to revert back if he does that but if it works, then great.
     
    spike228, Dec 29, 2005
    #7
  8. peter

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Its what I have to do when my icons start changing themselves into other icons (i.e. the CSS icon now looks like the Diablo icon, but is still works as the CSS icon)
     
    Goober, Dec 29, 2005
    #8
  9. peter

    peter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chi-Town, Illi
    that works on most of my shortcuts, BUT how am i suppose to get my icons back for my computer, my documents, internet explorer, show desktop and some other stuff that doesnt have the change icons.
     
    peter, Dec 29, 2005
    #9
  10. peter

    peter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chi-Town, Illi
    LOL i fixed it! hahaha i did what i did before that screwed up my icons. BEfore, i alt esc, not alt tab. so this time, i accidentally alt esc back and everything is back to normal xP.

    Thanks Guys for all your help.
     
    peter, Dec 29, 2005
    #10
  11. peter

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    :?
    ┬┐Huh, Alt+Esc?
    :?

    That doesnt do anything on my box
     
    Goober, Dec 29, 2005
    #11
  12. peter

    nameless VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    usa
    reckon he means Alt+Shift+Esc? only thing i can think of w/ Alt+Esc keys unless somehow a repowerful hotkey got coded but i've never hurd of an Esc hotkey.
     
    nameless, Jan 6, 2006
    #12
  13. peter

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Alt shift esc just switches the windows similar to alt tab
     
    Goober, Jan 6, 2006
    #13
  14. peter

    nameless VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    usa
    Goober i'm sorry bro i got caught up in the Alt key i was'nt paying attention. i meant Ctrl+Shift+Esc. i was thinking they went to task manger.
     
    nameless, Jan 6, 2006
    #14
  15. peter

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Oh hey look at that, another way to get to the task manager...
     
    Goober, Jan 6, 2006
    #15
  16. peter

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    cool...no more ctrl alt del for me any more. i can do ctrl alt esc with one hand :)
     
    spike228, Jan 7, 2006
    #16
  17. peter

    nameless VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    usa
    come on guys please tell me yall knew about that one........
    thats the way i do it. i dont know why but you know some programms lockup and Ctrl+Alt+Delete doesnt get any response, but the Ctrl+shift+Esc always does.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2006
    nameless, Jan 8, 2006
    #17
  18. peter

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    guess i'm a n00b then because i didn't know until now.
     
    spike228, Jan 8, 2006
    #18
  19. peter

    nameless VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    usa
    you know i was being funny right?
     
    nameless, Jan 8, 2006
    #19
  20. peter

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    yea. sorry did i sound like i was offended or something? i wasn't haha.
     
    spike228, Jan 8, 2006
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.