Memory Issue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Brando16, Jul 4, 2003.

  1. Brando16

    Brando16 The Mixed Bag

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Anywhere
    Hey everyone, I'm here in Florida right now. My laptops in awesome working order, but my Uncle's is messed up right now. I've come to you guys for some help with his Desktop PC. It's a Dell XPS T450 Dimension Computer. Here's whats up:

    At certain times while he is online, his Aniti-Virus Program (Norton) glitchs up on him, and he gets a message like this:

    SINGLE-BIT ECC ERRORS IN MEMORY BANK 4

    Also, when he tried uninstalling a program, he got:

    Uninstall Programs no longer needed
    NMAIN
    Caused an Invalid page fault in ModuleKernel32.dll
    9210 Stuck Key

    My Uncle also says he only has 57% memory at times.


    Any help is greatly apprechiated. Thanks! :thumbs
     
    Brando16, Jul 4, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Brando16

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Well you don't have to worry about the ECC error. The ECC ram will fix those errors on the fly. ECC stands for Error Checking & Correction.

    As for the other issue, are you sure that's the exact error message? What OS does he have? Probably Windows 98? I would if possible format his drive and re-install his OS..
     
    James, Jul 5, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Brando16

    Brando16 The Mixed Bag

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Anywhere
    he has Windows 98, and I registered him to this forum the other day as RacerI95. I'm pretty sure thats the error message, but I can't guarantee it..he's activating his account today and I'm going to try and teach him how to use these. He learns quickly :thumbs. He may be able to explain the problem better than me.
     
    Brando16, Jul 7, 2003
    #3
  4. Brando16

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Ok, point him to this thread when you show him how to get around here. ;)
     
    James, Jul 7, 2003
    #4
  5. Brando16

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Don't worry about the ECC errors, they normally fix them selves on the fly, but sometimes report you the error.

    I would backup your data and format your drive and then re-install 98.

    -Easy on the caps there too... ;)
     
    James, Jul 8, 2003
    #5
  6. Brando16

    RacerI95 Guest

    Hi: reinstalling windows 98 I have done it and also Norton Systems works and still have not been able to fix it. What does it means stuck key number9210 or 09210 and single-bit ecc error in memory bank 4. Also DMI event log--pre boot error. All these information is given to me and I have tried to see what could it be but unfortunate still there.
     
    RacerI95, Jul 9, 2003
    #6
  7. Brando16

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Did you do a format though? I could not find aything about the stuck key error. But the ECC error in bank 4 means thats the peice/location where the error happened.
     
    James, Jul 9, 2003
    #7
  8. Brando16

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    If you didn't do a format and just install Windows again, it most likley would not fix the issue.
     
    SwordWielder, Jul 12, 2003
    #8
  9. Brando16

    Brando16 The Mixed Bag

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Anywhere
    I'm back in Florida now and we're going to do that next week
     
    Brando16, Jul 26, 2003
    #9
  10. Brando16

    Brando16 The Mixed Bag

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Anywhere
    He went ahead and had it looked at, and it seems to have been repaired.

    Unforunately, he sees the same STUCK KEY ERROR, saying the Keyboard Pre-boot is not functional. We think he needs a new keyboard, but it works OK with another computer. What may be wrong?
     
    Brando16, Jul 31, 2003
    #10
  11. Brando16

    Brando16 The Mixed Bag

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Anywhere
    Okay it hasn't been malfunctioning lately.
    (Oh yeah and about the Caps he always types like that)
     
    Brando16, Aug 10, 2003
    #11
  12. Brando16

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    That's good. What did they do to fix the problem?
     
    James, Aug 10, 2003
    #12
  13. Brando16

    Brando16 The Mixed Bag

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Anywhere
    I'm not quite sure, but he had it inspected and I think it was fixed. We saw the Keyboard error only once so it must've been fixed by Norton or something.
     
    Brando16, Aug 11, 2003
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.