iPod shuffle has broken my PC

Discussion in 'Media Workshop' started by scooobydont, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. scooobydont

    scooobydont Outlet Forums Contributor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed itunes to go with an ipod shufle i purchased today, I have just unplugged it from the pc and all my usb ports are reporting a malfunction!! I have tried rebooting.

    It is a Dell 9200, so the keyboard and mouse are both usb connections only, nothing is working.

    Please help..........:bawling:
     
    scooobydont, Feb 3, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. scooobydont

    scooobydont Outlet Forums Contributor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone has given me a solution that has worked:

    There was a trick that I could do on my old PC when the USB ports went silly.

    Turn off the PC, switch the power to off on the switch on the back of the PC, unplug PC from mains, hold down the PC power on button for 40 seconds, then plug it back in, turn power switch on, power PC up as usual.
     
    scooobydont, Feb 3, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. scooobydont

    pepperoni VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    So that works by discharging any residual power?
     
    pepperoni, Feb 3, 2009
    #3
  4. scooobydont

    gcmarcal VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    that what you get when you go for apple!
     
    gcmarcal, Feb 3, 2009
    #4
  5. scooobydont

    scooobydont Outlet Forums Contributor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, I was surprised too.
     
    scooobydont, Feb 4, 2009
    #5
  6. scooobydont

    scooobydont Outlet Forums Contributor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip, lol. As the saying goes, if it ain't broken, don't fix it.
     
    scooobydont, Oct 26, 2009
    #6
  7. scooobydont

    kristinacallis

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Similar thing happened with me as well. When i was using Pen Drive on my PC, it showed malfunction message, so it means that my pendrive got corrupted due to in appropriate insertion. Well i had to buy new pen drive as a solution. Guess you too will have to follow the same thing.

    Regards,
    Kristina
     
    kristinacallis, Nov 23, 2009
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.