IP Address

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by TylerBentz, May 8, 2004.

  1. TylerBentz

    TylerBentz

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Can anyone please tell me how to change your IP Address if you can even do it?
     
    TylerBentz, May 8, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TylerBentz

    Kenny03

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver, canada
    run command prompt. then type in ipconfig/release. and then ipconfig/renew.
     
    Kenny03, May 8, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TylerBentz

    TacoX DomineNonEsDignus VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Oregon
    That does not change the ip given to you by your ISP i believe.
     
    TacoX, May 8, 2004
    #3
  4. TylerBentz

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    You can go into Network Connections, and right click on the connection you're using then go to 'Properties' then under the 'General' tab, you can select TCP/IP and change the setting from 'obtain an IP address automatically' to 'Use the following IP address' and you can type in what you want.
    This will only work on an internal network. Don't expect to get on the internet if you do this and dial up. Also, if you're on an internal network accessing the internet through a router or another computer, don't expect your external ip to change. It doesn't work that way. The best way to get a new external IP is to 1) Disconnect from your dial up provider, then reconnect, or 2) If you have cable/dsl unplug the modem and plug it back in. This won't work all the time. I know I have comcast, and my IP is always the same.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, May 8, 2004
    #4
  5. TylerBentz

    Steve VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Albert, Canad
    ISP normally hand out the same address per MAC address (Media Access Control, every nic has it's own unique number, called a mac address). Normally most IP's have cycles and the IP's rotate over a period of time, say every three months, depending on how your ISP set up thier DCHP service. If you have dialup, you ip may change every time you dialup, thats how mine worked.
     
    Steve, May 8, 2004
    #5
  6. TylerBentz

    TylerBentz

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    I have cable modem and I tried unplugging the modem then plugging it back in but that didnt work. I also have no idea what to type in in the use the following IP Address space? I also tried the command prompt way and that didnt work either.
     
    TylerBentz, May 9, 2004
    #6
  7. TylerBentz

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    If you have a cable modem, you're stuck with your IP address until they change it. Thats all I can say 'bout that.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, May 9, 2004
    #7
  8. TylerBentz

    TylerBentz

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    When will they change it?
     
    TylerBentz, May 9, 2004
    #8
  9. TylerBentz

    Steve VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Albert, Canad
    Read my post above, depends on your isp. Did you get banned from somewhere?
     
    Steve, May 9, 2004
    #9
  10. TylerBentz

    TylerBentz

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Yes I got banned from a site just for saying a band sucked. I dont really understand what you meant in your post above....it might change in about 3 months?
     
    TylerBentz, May 9, 2004
    #10
  11. TylerBentz

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Yes. It takes awhile for your IP to change. And it may never change. Mine never changes. You may just have to deal with it.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, May 9, 2004
    #11
  12. TylerBentz

    Steve VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Albert, Canad
    I would suggest waiting two or three months and then contacting the site admin to be unbanned. Appoligies are always good.
     
    Steve, May 9, 2004
    #12
  13. TylerBentz

    TylerBentz

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    I guess I will wait and see because I already tried sayin sorry it didnt work.
     
    TylerBentz, May 9, 2004
    #13
  14. TylerBentz

    clifford VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'm not sure you will get a response after 9 years.
     
    clifford, Feb 13, 2013
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.