Internet radio to my stereo

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by harland, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. harland

    harland

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    midwest
    I didn't know where to put this, but I am coming to you guy's wiyh this question since you're all so helpfull.
    I own a bar with mostly Slovak clientel. In keeping in touch with their homeland, I would like to play some of the internet broadcasts from their country via my laptop or desktop. The question is, can I line the feed from the computer to my surround sound system in the bar?
     
    harland, Apr 26, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. harland

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    yes you can. do you already have the radio/music you want to play?

    it depends on what type of "line in" connectors are in the back of your surround sound system

    I would suggest going to radio shack to get the propper cable(s)
     
    Goober, Apr 26, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. harland

    harland

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    midwest
    Yes, I have the surround unit set up and the internet radio i would like to play. What type of line in am I looking for...and will the sound card on the pc make any difference.
     
    harland, Apr 26, 2005
    #3
  4. harland

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    as for the sound card, not really, depending on how good your onboard (if you have onboard) is itll be great.

    it will be a 2.5mm (standered headphone jack) connector to whatever your line in is on your surround sound system which would more than likely be rca.

    you can get a dual male 2.5mm stereo with an adaptor to rca or get a rca to 2.5mm stereo.
     
    Goober, Apr 26, 2005
    #4
  5. harland

    harland

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    midwest
    Sweet, i'll get to work on this, thanks much!
     
    harland, Apr 26, 2005
    #5
  6. harland

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Yeah like I said, if you need to know more just walk into radio shack or best buy.

    your welcome
     
    Goober, Apr 26, 2005
    #6
  7. harland

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    If it doesn't sound good or the auido distorts as you turn the volume up, you may need a card that specializes in this from Sound Blaster. Let us know how this works.
     
    James, Apr 26, 2005
    #7
  8. harland

    harland

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    midwest
    Thanks James, let me experiment and I'll get back.
     
    harland, Apr 27, 2005
    #8
  9. harland

    harland

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    midwest
    Just wanna let you all know that this works perfectly. Best Buy helped me find the cord. Thanks again!
     
    harland, May 3, 2005
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.