Installing A Clean Version of WinXP Pro

Discussion in 'Software' started by DaVo, Apr 6, 2004.

  1. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    I am helping out a friend, he wants WinXP Pro to be on his computer. So I started to do a clean installation, anyway at about 90% completed way the computer goes to a blue screen and it displays a big error. It says it is starting to 'Dump Physical Memory', and then says 'Contact System Administrator for more help' What does this mean? How can I get his WinXP Pro to work?
     
    DaVo, Apr 6, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DaVo

    SwitCh \\ ├črainstorm \\ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Hardware Issue ?

    It sounds like a hardware issue to me. Look inside his case for loose IDE cables, or out of place hardware it might also be best to reseating things like RAM,CPU, power connectors etc. If the problem persist then try taking out all non essential hardware and installing it later on in the installation. Anyway I am not what you would call a " techie " So if my advise isn't helpful to you I am sure someone else on BD can help.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2004
    SwitCh, Apr 6, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    Out of place hardware? Reseating RAM and CPU? How do you do that?
     
    DaVo, Apr 6, 2004
    #3
  4. DaVo

    SwitCh \\ ├črainstorm \\ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Reseating . . .

    It basically means to remove a piece of hardware from its seat and put it back in, carefully and correctly of course.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2004
    SwitCh, Apr 6, 2004
    #4
  5. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    Well all hardware is in correctly...anybody else have any ideas?
     
    DaVo, Apr 6, 2004
    #5
  6. DaVo

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Whats his computer specs?
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Apr 6, 2004
    #6
  7. DaVo

    SwitCh \\ ├črainstorm \\ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It may look as though his hardware is in correctly but I still advise you to reseat everything like RAM,CPU,VIDEO,SOUND, etc Unless of course its Onboard then just disable it.
     
    SwitCh, Apr 6, 2004
    #7
  8. DaVo

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    How about the full memory dump error message?
     
    James, Apr 6, 2004
    #8
  9. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    What do you mean?

    It comes up with lots of numbers and at the buttom of the screen it says 'Dump Physical Memory In Progress' and after about 2 minutes says 'Dump of Physical Memory Complete.'

    Computer Specs? Well how do I find these out? Cause I can't even get into the system to find these out and he doesn't know what sort of computer it is. Pentium 3 I think with about 64mb of RAM, that is all I know...
     
    DaVo, Apr 7, 2004
    #9
  10. DaVo

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    One, if it doesn't have more than a 2 gig drive it won't install.
    Also, are you formatting the drives correctly?
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Apr 7, 2004
    #10
  11. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    How do you format it? I think it has been formatted. Just in case, how do you do this?

    Ow and yes it does have more than 2gig, it has 10 gb apparently.
     
    DaVo, Apr 7, 2004
    #11
  12. DaVo

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    During the install sequence, one of the very earliest steps is to create and manage partitions. You have to create a primary partrion that has to be ntfs file system, otherwise it won't work.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Apr 7, 2004
    #12
  13. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    Any chance you can give me a step by step instruction?
     
    DaVo, Apr 7, 2004
    #13
  14. DaVo

    Michelle

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Ouch. I think 128MB is the minimum recommended for WinXP. Throw in another stick of 64 at least. More if it will take it.
     
    Michelle, Apr 7, 2004
    #14
  15. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    Will Do....

    Will do, but he is running another system with about 64mb of RAM, really slow but he is used to it. He justs wants the system for basic use....well I thing he wants out of it is....playing CS! LoL, I just need to know how to get this system up and running...!!
     
    DaVo, Apr 7, 2004
    #15
  16. DaVo

    Michelle

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You can get all kinds of performance issues running WinXP on that little RAM, I'm surprised he even got it installed on his other system... I can't even imagine what a dog it is to use :p
     
    Michelle, Apr 7, 2004
    #16
  17. DaVo

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    Fenis-Wolf, Apr 7, 2004
    #17
  18. DaVo

    DaVo Banned for Life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, OZ
    DaVo, Apr 7, 2004
    #18
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.