I'm looking for a good home router

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by SwordWielder, Feb 10, 2003.

  1. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    I don't want some super duper computer server router thingy...

    I have 2 computers and an Xbox, with a DSL connection. I'd also like to be able to share my printer easily also...

    any suggestions?
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 10, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SwordWielder

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    hi, I have a few suggestions...

    The first, is what I have, it may be too many ports for you, but it does have the built in print server. It has 8 ports, it -like most routers, has a built in firewall (NAT). The other cool thing about it, is it has a com port, which you can hook a external dialup modem to it, so if your dsl goes down, the router will automatically dial up to your dialup account if you have one.
    SMC7008ABR - Barricade™ 8 Port 10/100 Mbps Broadband Router

    The next has 4 ports, but not print server and no com port. It does have the firewall, you can read on the rest of the features here: SMC7004FW - Barricade™ Plus Cable/DSL Broadband Router

    If you want a wireless router, let me know. I can come up with some sugegestions.. But it's late... and i'm tired :D
     
    James, Feb 10, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Those do look pretty good. I'll have to read up on the specification sheets... i'll need to get adobe pdf viewer too.

    If you can suggest some wireless routers that would be very nice!
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 10, 2003
    #3
  4. SwordWielder

    XavierYZ

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    go with the linksys befsr41-2

    I have that and it supports Xbox Live
     
    XavierYZ, Feb 11, 2003
    #4
  5. SwordWielder

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    For wireless there's the SMC7004AWBR - Barricade™ 4-Port 11Mbps Wireless Broadband Router.
    It's the 4 port router. It does NAT/firewalling, it has the print server, 802.11b.
    This would probably be your best bet if all you want is the xbox and the 2 PC's. There are 8 port wireless routers also.

    All of the routers I've mention support Xbox live... If you do go with one of these routers, I can help you configure it, if you run into any troubles. :D
     
    James, Feb 11, 2003
    #5
  6. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Oh! nice, that last router looks great! I may be buying this device, but will research it some. thanks ;)
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 11, 2003
    #6
  7. SwordWielder

    JennyP

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    We have a Linksys befsr41, that supports DH's PC, my eMac, a printer and scanner, and 3 laptops when my son and his friends stop by.
     
    JennyP, Feb 11, 2003
    #7
  8. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    One thing we forgot to mention, how does the Xbox connect to the wireless router? I did some research and found this:
    http://www.linksys.com/splash/wetxbox.asp#xbox1

    I think I just may go with the SMC, still reading reviews on it, all good so far~
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 12, 2003
    #8
  9. SwordWielder

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yes, that will work just fine :)
     
    James, Feb 14, 2003
    #9
  10. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    I think I've decided. I am going to the the Linksys wireless adapter for my xbox, and the SMC7004AWBR - Barricade™ 4-Port 11Mbps Wireless Broadband Router.

    I will be ordering these tonight. Thank you a lot for the help and info. I'll let you know how everything works out!
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 14, 2003
    #10
  11. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Well I have my router, and my wireless card! :)

    My DSL connection is being served out just great! Hopefully all goes well with the lynksys device---when i actually get it (hopefully soon, UPS is slow)........
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 19, 2003
    #11
  12. SwordWielder

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    awesome :)

    I may be getting an access point and wireless card, for my mother's laptop.
     
    James, Feb 19, 2003
    #12
  13. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Well, I have my linksys device... works likea charm! thanx so much for your help.
     
    SwordWielder, Feb 20, 2003
    #13
  14. SwordWielder

    Ops VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Make sure you change the passwords

    Go to: http://192.168.1.1

    and upon the login, just type in "admin" for the password, no Username.

    Look around the options to change the default password. Be sure it is long and you can remember it, Or you can save it in a password manager. If you want a recommendation on a password manager, PM me and I'll link you to a free one for Win32.
     
    Ops, Jul 21, 2003
    #14
  15. SwordWielder

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    I thought Id post in this thread so I dont have to repeat what hardware I'm using. I have heard about WPA and am wondering what I have to do to take advantage of this James? Any information you have?
     
    SwordWielder, May 24, 2004
    #15
  16. SwordWielder

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Update the firmware for your router, every device is mandated to support WPA (almost every device) now. So check out their site to see. Download the WPA update from MS. Also, see if your wireless NIC has a firmware update as well.

    WPA encrypts your data, it's PSK as well. It has replaced WEP as WEP has a lot of weaknesses. WPA is basically used for home networks. Most businesses use certificate services or RADIUS to auth / secure their wireless networks.

    Here's some information on WPA:

    1. Securing Wireless LANs with PEAP and Passwords
    2. WPA Wireless Security for Home Networks
    3. Focus On: Wireless Networking and Windows XP
    4. Windows XP Support Patch for Wi-Fi Protected Access
     
    James, May 25, 2004
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.