if u know anything about routers/networking read this!

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by brent, Jan 11, 2005.

1. brent

brent Reason

Can someone help me with networking?
    I have just bought a netgear rp614 v3 router but i cant get it to work.
    When it comes to this sort of thing im a real noob, i have followed the instructions exactly and all seems to be well untill i get to the settings config screen where nothing happens. i tried it on my wifes laptop with the same result. I have no idea if i need to change the settings in winxp sp2 and if i did id have no idea what to do. Im running a amd 2600+ 512mb ram geforce 5900.
    Please somebody help as i live in germany and dont speak a great deal of german so as u can imagine im pretty limited to asking for help

brent, Jan 11, 2005
    1. Advertisements

2. brent

Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

Nothing happens? If you change settings and click 'Save' they don't save?

Fenis-Wolf, Jan 11, 2005
    1. Advertisements

3. brent

James Photojournalist VIP Member

Also, have you disabled the Windows Firewall service? How do you go about configuring the options? Through a wizard or through the router console?

James, Jan 11, 2005
  4. brent

brent Reason

I dont even get a page to save settings, the wizard configures everything except my isp passwords i have pushed the actual router reset button on the router, but to no avail. The last thing that happens is the config settings screen comes up but its just a blank screen that says at the top "netgear configuration assistant" and thats it then a blank screen. At this time it seems to trying to connect to the page i let it try for over an hour and nothing came up.

brent, Jan 11, 2005
  5. brent

brent Reason

i forgot one thing, i turn off the windows firewall already, and turned off my personal fire wall which caused me to get 10 virus's

brent, Jan 11, 2005
  6. brent