I uninstalled a device on accident

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by theprofessor, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. theprofessor

    theprofessor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over
    I was trying install the setup for Cingular Communication Manager to transfer pics to PC. I think you have to install drivers to go with the program. So I did that. And the drivers didnt install correctly. It didnt fully configure and when USB is hooked up it makes the usual rapid bell ding noise. But about 3 times. Sounded like something was messed up. So I tried to uninstall the drivers. Not sure what to look for I accidentally clicked stop hardware device on something about Sony. Now I cant find it to turn it back on so I can have that hardware device working back again.:?
    So 2 questions:

    Is there a way to locate it and tell which one I clicked stop on so I can turn it back on?
    Also how do I uninstall the drivers that I think were installed from the Cingular program? Im not sure what the drivers were even called.

    BTW I had to reboot my PC since I lost my Safely Remove Hardware icon for good. Even after going to custom notifications and checking "always show". I couldnt get it back. Dont know if I might have lost something as far as when I turned off hardware device.

    Please Help. And remember I dont know jack about computers. Step by Step please. Thanks
     
    theprofessor, Jun 14, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. theprofessor

    theprofessor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over
    I just realized i typed uninstalled hardware for a topic. lol doesnt make sense. sorry

    any suggestions?
     
    theprofessor, Jun 14, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. theprofessor

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    When going to the device manager it shows the device that has been stoped with a red x over it. and for anything does not ahve drivers for it, it will appear with a question mark under Unknown devices. Im not too sure where your cellphone would be located because I dont even own one of those devils devices :p

    Uhm I guess click on all the plus signs untill you come across one that says your cellphone or something related to it.
     
    Goober, Jun 14, 2006
    #3
  4. theprofessor

    theprofessor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over
    I clicked on all the plus signs in Device Manager. No red Xs and no ? marks.... now what does that mean. and I see nothing related to Cingular. I uninstalled the software reinstalled and went through the hardware device wizard to install drivers with the Cingular software. Still does the unhealthy bell ding. I have some partial drivers or something installed somehwere. Something is going on and I have to remove it before i can reinstall. It wont let me overwrite it.
     
    theprofessor, Jun 14, 2006
    #4
  5. theprofessor

    theprofessor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over
    Nobody else has any help?
     
    theprofessor, Jun 15, 2006
    #5
  6. theprofessor

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    Did you backup your system before doing this?
     
    Zeus, Jun 15, 2006
    #6
  7. theprofessor

    wifiknight I read your email

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    In your computer
    Rebooting should bring up the detection of the hardware.. if it doesn't try manually detecting new hardware via the device manager.
     
    wifiknight, Jun 15, 2006
    #7
  8. theprofessor

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    If all else fails, try a system restore, then try again maybe?
     
    Nickweb, Jun 16, 2006
    #8
  9. theprofessor

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia

    That's why I asked if he had backed up his system 1st.
     
    Zeus, Jun 16, 2006
    #9
  10. theprofessor

    theprofessor VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over
    thats a negatory. i didnt back up my system. i had no idea this would happen. when i reboot the safely remove hardware icon in tray comes back. also when looking at the device manager i dont see any drivers associated with cingular. although i really dont know what the driver would be titled as. maybe i didnt download the drivers at all. even though it went halfway through the configuration. is this a possibility? if so then how can i just download the drivers over. i tried it again but it did the same thing. so its either
    A) the drivers are partially installed....(if such a thing could happen) and it wont override it.
    B) the drivers are NOT installed and something is wrong the cingular program

    also on another note. i dont believe i removed any hardware by just pressing stop. because i tested a hardware by rebooting and stopping another device. when i rebooted again that same device i stopped was restored and said to be working properly. which means the initial driver i posted about, that i was afraid of removing, i dont think i removed by just "pressing stop device" then rebooting.

    so will a system retore clear this up? then try and install driver from cingular again?
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2006
    theprofessor, Jun 16, 2006
    #10
  11. theprofessor

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    ok, ok nevermind
     
    Nickweb, Jun 16, 2006
    #11
  12. theprofessor

    Sambassador Ninja

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    System restore, unless he turned it off, will automatically back up days for him... there's no need to "Manually back up his files." Go ahead and give system restore a shot (You can get it through Start--Programs--Accessories--System Tools--System Restore) and it should fix your problem
     
    Sambassador, Jun 20, 2006
    #12
  13. theprofessor

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    Maybe I should have worded it differently. If you go where Sambassador pointed to, you can also create a restore point. You should do this before installing any new software, drivers, or patches. That is what was meant by backing up the system. Not backing up all the files.

    I was unaware that it automatically created restore points by the day though. I thought it was like once a week which is why I was asking about the backup.
     
    Zeus, Jun 20, 2006
    #13
  14. theprofessor

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    It does a backup of old drivers/devices when one is replacing/removing them.
     
    Goober, Jun 20, 2006
    #14
  15. theprofessor

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    I didn't know that either. I usually do it manually to be sure.
     
    Zeus, Jun 20, 2006
    #15
  16. theprofessor

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    I thought I was right in thinking there should have been a restore point, i just didnt want another argument
     
    Nickweb, Jun 21, 2006
    #16
  17. theprofessor

    Sambassador Ninja

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    It automatically does it about every 3 days, sometimes more if they install new hardware or if they set it that way. It's a pretty handy tool... i use it allllllll the time where I work, works wonders ;-D
     
    Sambassador, Jun 28, 2006
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
Loading...