I Need A New Server

Discussion in 'System Building & Upgrades' started by jhonax, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. jhonax

    jhonax

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi every one. I am new here..I'm looking for a server here is the specs.. where i can get it and how much.
    Quadcore Xeon Processor,4gb Ram,250 HDD"

    NIC,compatible for RHAS$-5nos."
    "NAS/SAn storage with iSCSI interface or server storage with NFS for 2TB with raid"
    "Server load Balancer on HA on Data Center set up"
     
    jhonax, Mar 18, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jhonax

    jhonax

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hope that you can help me in this as soon as posible
     
    jhonax, Mar 18, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jhonax

    Maurice Bloody good bloke VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    London England
    Maurice, Mar 18, 2011
    #3
  4. jhonax

    jhonax

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks maurice. im looking for red hat OS
     
    jhonax, Mar 18, 2011
    #4
  5. jhonax

    Maurice Bloody good bloke VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    London England
    Red Hat home page is at:-

    http://www.redhat.com/

    I have very little knowledge of setting up and administrating Linux myself, I'm a Microsoft man. Yes I know, we are public enemy No1 but that's the way it is :D

    Does the server need to be quad-core? Is it expected to be running lots of processes such as SQL databases, web services? Would there be many users/connections to it?

    I only ask as quite often a multi-processor system ends up being used when fewer processors could handle the task. At least with unix/Linux the OS is very capable of spreading different processes across multi-cpus.

    Do you think 4gb RAM is sufficient? Again, depending on the anticipated work load you may consider upping that especially as memory is nowhere near as expensive as it used to be. No point throttling a system for the price of a few $$$. You may want to go for 8 or 16Gbytes.
     
    Maurice, Mar 18, 2011
    #5
  6. jhonax

    jhonax

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, we are expecting more users..thanks for your reply..
     
    jhonax, Mar 18, 2011
    #6
  7. jhonax

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    I moved these into their own thread to better help you, I hope it don't cause too much confusion.

    I'm actually a bit curious why you chose Red Hat for your OS?

    http://freenas.org/doku.php

    :)
     
    Zeus, Mar 18, 2011
    #7
  8. jhonax

    jhonax

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi zeus..actually i am not familiar with red hat but since we are a contractor, we have a prospect project that require to use a red hat OS and this is the spec that they want..thank you very much for all the response and help..I am new with the networking hope that you can help me again... thanks
     
    jhonax, Mar 21, 2011
    #8
  9. jhonax

    Leapswitch Webhosting Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pune, India
    You can try out the free version of RedHat called CentOS - CentOS.org . We have used it on over 50 servers , and still use it on a majority of servers (after shifting some to CloudLinux)
     
    Leapswitch, Apr 27, 2011
    #9
  10. jhonax

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    I know if he is contracting for the (US) federal government, then they make you use Red Hat and don't allow you to use CentOS. This way once you buy it, if something breaks, you have someone to call and blame and tell them to fix it.
     
    Zeus, Apr 28, 2011
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.