How to setup 2 networks on a Laptop

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by jplink, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. jplink

    jplink

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello :hi

    I have a network at home with 2 desktop PC's and a printer on it. I also have a laptop with Windows XP that I use for work and travel. I just bought an access point so I can surf the Internet with my laptop anywhere in the house. The wireless works fine on the laptop but when I go and connect the laptop to the wired network so I can print, it will not print unless I disable the "Wireless Network" in Network Connections. Then if I want to use the wireless again I must go back into Network Connections, disable the "Local Area Connection" and enable "Wireless Connection".
    If both connections are "Enabled" only 1 or the other will work, not both. :?
    How can we use both networks without having to enable and disable the connection every time we want to print something.
    The wired network is connected togather by a Linksys Switch.
    The wireless network is using Trendnet WAP connected to a Comcast modem.
    All the PC’s have Windows XP
    Thanks in advance
     
    jplink, Jan 4, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jplink

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    That is a rather odd issue. My PC is currently connecting to our wireless router via both wireless and ethernet/wired homeplug connections, and I'm not having any trouble with it asking me to disable one before I can have the other on.

    The same with my Laptop - connects fine wirelessly and wiredly at the exact same time.

    The only thing we really need to know is the make of Laptop. There's possibly some driver or setting issue with it, so if you could let us know the make and model of the Laptop, we should be able to help you a lot more :)
     
    S Walch, Jan 5, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jplink

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    Are there ports on the wireless device that you can plug your wired computers into?

    The Cisco switch it sees your wireless device as the "outside" and dont let your wireless connect to the printer. There may be a setting on the switch to make it act like an access point, then you wouldnt need to switch back and forth to print.
     
    Zeus, Jan 11, 2011
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.