How often do you upgrade your PC?

Discussion in 'System Building & Upgrades' started by Ian, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's been over a year since I upgraded my system (Q6600, 2GB Ram, 2 x 250GB HD, 8800GTS), and it still seems to be able to run everything I throw at it :) I'm nowhere near ready to upgrade yet, so I guess I'm still about a year and a half off upgrading anything (perhaps longer).

    I normally do a big upgrade every 3 years, so the timing works about about the same this time round.

    How often do you guys upgrade?
     
    Ian, Mar 11, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    I do an upgrade every 3 or so years as well, although it does seem that I've been on my Dual-Core AMD 64-bit processor for quite a while - I've upgraded the RAM from 1 GB to 2 GB, but I'm still on DDR1 - not even progressed to DDR2, and will probably bypass it and go straight to DDR3 when I next upgrade, which I don't think I'll be doing yet either.

    My rig still plays all the latest games, so I really don't see a need to upgrade yet.
     
    S Walch, Mar 11, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    danperteet I broke it again. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Georgia
    I recently turned an old computer into a server so i've been doing upgrade shopping on ebay. Hope I don't get outbid.
     
    danperteet, Mar 12, 2009
    #3
  4. Ian

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    I tend to upgrade slowly, over time. But since the laptop crash and buying a new PC, I don't see any future upgrades for at least a couple of years. I upgraded the gfx card and the PSU though because the onboard, nice as it was, just did not cut it for me.

    I did do some upgrading on my wife's PC though. She is not at all into comps and would be happy with the slowest piece of junk... She never sees any point in spending any dough on anything computer-related, but I need to use that machine on occasion, and it stores all the mp3s and such for example, so I got tired of it being so bloody slow and replaced the motherboard, cpu, psu, ram...pretty much everything but the case and the optical drive, while wife was out of town. Runs XP nicely now that I've "defragged it".
     
    Core, Mar 12, 2009
    #4
  5. Ian

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    I tend to upgrade my comp when I have the money. I should save up my cash to go back to school.
     
    Goober, Mar 12, 2009
    #5
  6. Ian

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    I upgrade when i can, Ive pretty much maxed out on what my mobo can handle in terms of CPU. AXP3200+ running at 2.4ghz

    I could get 2 1GB sticks of RAM to replace my 2 512MB sticks, and i can always buy a bigger GPU, although im still on AGP, but I have a GeForce 7300GT 512 and its nice. Although I cant run CODWaW, ita based on the same engine as COD4, so it should work, but the sound issue is killing it game before it starts

    I need to build a new machine, but i have no way near the cash to do it
     
    Nickweb, Mar 12, 2009
    #6
  7. Ian

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well I just recently (Januaury) built a new rig. My old rig, which is now a media center in the living room, was my gamer for about 4 years.
     
    Zeus, Mar 12, 2009
    #7
  8. Ian

    Codex85 Mouse Potato VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    US
    I tend to upgrade my rig piecemeal, replacing this part or that as it becomes outdated. My next big upgrade will probably be i7/DDR3, which will require a new mobo/CPU/RAM.
     
    Codex85, Mar 12, 2009
    #8
  9. Ian

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    Zeus, send me your old pc?
     
    Nickweb, Mar 12, 2009
    #9
  10. Ian

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    You don't want it. It's tearing up (video card is going out on it for the 3rd time and I think it is the mobo causing it).
    And it is ugly as sin too. I'm missing one side of the case so if I sent it to you one look would make you wonder what kind of junk I sent you.
    It is the one in my profile b/c I still havent updated it to my current rig.
    Not really much to brag about, but I can take out the secondary drive (my backup drive) and see how much it would be to ship it overseas if you think you could make use of it.

    *Edit*

    Here it is from my profile minus the pieces I would keep:
    Obviously I wouldn't send you the monitor b/c I am still using it, I would take out the 300GB drive and probably the DVD drive as well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2009
    Zeus, Mar 13, 2009
    #10
  11. Ian

    Nickweb Resident Filmaker Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    North Wales, Britain
    looks pretty much like my rig, apart from i got an athlon xp 3200+ and a geforce 7300gt
     
    Nickweb, Mar 13, 2009
    #11
  12. Ian

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    So then it wouldn't even be worth the cost of shipping it b/c your rig is newer anyway.
     
    Zeus, Mar 13, 2009
    #12
  13. Ian

    Zeeg Noob

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    If I had a constant money flow, I would probably upgrade every two years. At my current state, it's probably every 4 years.
     
    Zeeg, Apr 30, 2009
    #13
  14. Ian

    dylangle3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Its every time I need it for some software requirement and that is when ever a part broke down.

    I am very careful to my system so they last up to 3 years minimum. then its every 3 years.
     
    dylangle3, Aug 1, 2009
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.