How do I disable laptop microphone?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Core, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. Core

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    I'd like to record some narratives over a video on my laptop. Unfortunately I am unable to find a way to disable the integrated microphone. Even when I stick a microphone into the MIC jack in the Acer, it still records using the integrated mike which results in low volume and lots of white noise. I have not found any feature in the Realtek HD Audio Manager to disable it. Any ideas?
     
    Core, Apr 4, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Core

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    9
    Normally plugging an external mic in automatically cuts off the internal mic and switches to the line in.

    I would have thought this was done in hardware, but perhaps it isn't - it might be worth seeing if there are any new sound drivers just in case (I think this is a long shot though).
     
    Ian, Apr 4, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Core

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    What program are you using to record the audio? Typically in the program you set the audio input to whatever input you want to use-the mic is always on, you just tell the program not to use it.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Apr 4, 2008
    #3
  4. Core

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    One would think so, but it isn't doing it in this case.

    I've tried both Pinnacle Studio 10 and Windows Movie Maker 2. The problem, as far as I could tell, is that there isn't anything to differentiate the two mic connections. You select microphone, and it uses input from both. :?
     
    Core, Apr 4, 2008
    #4
  5. Core

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Duct tape??? You could see if you can try to physically mute the onboard mic and try talking into the other one... :?
     
    Goober, Apr 4, 2008
    #5
  6. Core

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Duct tape?

    DUCT TAPE??

    I'm not putting duct tape on my fancy Acer laptop!!!11







    Yeah okay I'll try that...
     
    Core, Apr 4, 2008
    #6
  7. Core

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    It was a joke son!
     
    Goober, Apr 4, 2008
    #7
  8. Core

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    LOL

    Heck I'll try anything at this point...
     
    Core, Apr 4, 2008
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.