Getting a new pc, how does this look?

Discussion in 'System Building & Upgrades' started by gRayZ, May 27, 2005.

  1. gRayZ

    gRayZ

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado.
    Im kind of new at computers, and dont know to much.. but im on like a 700 dollar budget and want to get a mx710 too, so how does this computer look for what im paying??

    Im basically going to be using it for school, and music, and entertainment.. but i will be playing a couple games on it.. thanks



    *BASE_PRICE: [+459]
    CAS: How New X-Cruiser Mid-Tower 420W Case W/ WINDOW, MultiMeter Display & Control (Black Color)
    CASUPGRADE: 12" COLD CATHODE NEON LIGHT [+10] (BLUE COLOR)
    CPU: (939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3000+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology [+30]
    CD: NONE
    CD2: CD-RW 52X32X52 (BLACK COLOR)
    CABLE: None
    FLASHMEDIA: INTERNAL 6in1 Flash Media Reader/Writer (BLACK COLOR)
    FAN: AMD ATHLON64 CERTIFIED CPU FAN & HEATSINK + 3 EXTRA CASE FANS [+9]
    FLOPPY: 1.44 MB FLOPPY DRIVE [+10] (BLACK COLOR)
    HDD: 120GB 7200 RPM ATA 100 HARD DRIVE [+24]
    HDD2: NONE
    HALFLIFE2: Free "Half-Life 2 Bronze" Download Coupon
    IEEE_CARD: NONE
    KEYBOARD: Logitech Deluxe 104 PS/2 Keyboard [+1] (BLACK COLOR)
    MOUSE: PS2 INTERNET MOUSE W/ WHEEL (BLUE COLOR)
    MSGAME1: NONE
    MSGAME2: NONE
    MSGAME3: NONE
    MODEM: NONE
    MP3PLAYER: NONE
    MOTHERBOARD: (939-pin Socket) GigaByte GA-K8NSC-939 nForce3 Ultra Chipset AGP8X w/LAN,USB2,&Audio
    MEMORY: 512 MB PC3200 400MHz DDR MEMORY (Corsair Value RAM)
    MONITOR: NONE
    NAPSTER: Free Napster Download Coupon
    NETWORK: ONBOARD 10/100 NETWORK CARD
    OS: Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition w/ Service Pack 2 [+89]
    PRINTER: None
    PRINTER_CABLE: None
    POWERSUPPLY: STANDARD CASE POWER SUPPLY
    RAID: NONE
    RUSH: NO; READY TO SHIP IN 5~10 BUSINESS DAYS
    SCANNER: NONE
    SERVICE: STANDARD WARRANTY: 3-YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY PLUS LIFE-TIME TECHNICAL SUPPORT
    SOUND: 3D WAVE ON-BOARD 5.1 SOUND CARD
    SPEAKERS: Cyberpower Neon Lightning Stereo Speakers
    SOFT1: McAfee Anti Virus 7 [+15]
    SOFT2: Microsoft® Works 7.0
    TEMP: NONE (AS SHOWN)
    UPS: None
    USB: Build-in USB 2.0 Ports
    USB_PENDRIVE: NONE
    VIDEOCAMERA: NONE
    VIDEO: NVIDIA Geforce-FX 5500 128MB DDR W/ TV OUT & DVI [+17]
    WIRELESSPOINT: NONE
    WIRELESSCARD: NONE
    WIRING: Professional Wiring for All WIRINGs Inside The System Chasis [+19]
    ZIP: NONE
    _PRICE: (+683)
     
    gRayZ, May 27, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. gRayZ

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Well I wouldnt spend the extra bucks to get mcafee. Also, MS Home Sp2 that is if you have dsl or higher internet connection you can just get the regular then update to Sp2.

    Then I question the " WIRING: Professional Wiring for All WIRINGs Inside The System Chasis [+19]" if you do not choose this option do you have to put it to gether?

    Thats all I have to say about it, it's a good system for what you want to use it for.
     
    Goober, May 27, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. gRayZ

    gRayZ

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado.
    im not sure about the wiring, but either way, i woudnt mind spending a little extra for good wiring, i coudnt do it myself anyways..
     
    gRayZ, May 27, 2005
    #3
  4. gRayZ

    Dave601 Web Guru VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Yeah it looks good. The only other thing I would say is if you could get a better video card it would be nice. The one you have will get the job done, but it is a little outdated.
     
    Dave601, May 28, 2005
    #4
  5. gRayZ

    gRayZ

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado.
    il try and up the gfx card a little
     
    gRayZ, May 28, 2005
    #5
  6. gRayZ

    binarysoul InnocentBystander VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    The Geforce 5500 is no behemoth, but it actually preforms fairly well for the price, though true it won't take long before no new games will work on it. It seems good, but as a matter of preference I skipped the Floppy Drive and bought a USB Jumpdrive when I built my computer.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2005
    binarysoul, May 28, 2005
    #6
  7. gRayZ

    gRayZ

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado.
    is the processor decently fast??
     
    gRayZ, May 31, 2005
    #7
  8. gRayZ

    binarysoul InnocentBystander VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    I believe the athlon 64 3000+ is a 1.8 ghz processor, which is decent and should be enough for just about anything.
     
    binarysoul, May 31, 2005
    #8
  9. gRayZ

    Dave601 Web Guru VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    That processor will be good for you. The key thing is that it is socket 939 so you can upgrade in the future, if you want.
     
    Dave601, Jun 1, 2005
    #9
  10. gRayZ

    ruslanb76 pivo prosim VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    usa
    Dude, get a Dvd optical drive. Maybe not a burner if you dont feel like it yet but a dvd drive. You can get a decent one for like 30 bucks and install it yourself. If you can put hook up your plugs to get your comp up and running you can put in a dvd drive. Wheres this quote from, Monarch? Doesnt look bad for the money overall.
     
    ruslanb76, Jun 1, 2005
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.