Firewalls

Discussion in 'System Security & Infection Support' started by Ops, Jul 21, 2003.

  1. Ops

    Ops VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    What is your favorite firewall for Win32? I prefer Sygate Personal Firewall, Even though they dont offer it anymore on their site. I think they still offer it on Downloads.com though.

    If they dont, I have the full setup if anyone would like it, just PM me.

    But Basically I have a Router to handle incoming traffic and I just have the Sygate Software firewall for Outgoing Connections, although it does handle incoming as well but the router handles that so it just hands it off.

    For Slackware, IP tables, Drop everything please 8)
     
    Ops, Jul 21, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ops

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    I've only worked with a few software firewalls, Sysgate, Norton (sucks), ZoneAlarm and Blackice.

    My router acts as the firewall. But, once I get my new switch, my Win2k box will be the router.
     
    James, Jul 21, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ops

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    I use norton Personal Firewall 2003 - and I must say I'm quite pleased with it.

    at least I can see who's IP it was who just tried to hack me :p
     
    S Walch, Sep 4, 2003
    #3
  4. Ops

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have your IP, I'll take down that Norton firewall. ;)
     
    James, Sep 4, 2003
    #4
  5. Ops

    Ops VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Ops, Sep 5, 2003
    #5
  6. Ops

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Cool, I'll try that on my Linux box when I get it up an running again. Right now, I'm going to try to pu Windows 3.1 on it to see how it runs.
     
    James, Sep 5, 2003
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.