Faster cpu = faster trans....?

Discussion in 'Media Workshop' started by vishnu, Jun 29, 2005.

  1. vishnu

    vishnu VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    toronto
    I have been using a few tools to transfer my old video files onto dvd, and I am always amazed at how long it takes...almost mintue to minute to create a dvd file (from its orignal mpeg)...I was wondering if I had a faster cpu (currently a Sempron 3000 oc'd to 3080mghz) if it would take less time to transcode?
    And I also havent seen any word if AMD is going to build dual core Sempron chips...as they wil be doing for their whole line of 64bit chips..anyone know where I might find out?

    Much thanks guys!

    Vishnu
     
    vishnu, Jun 29, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. vishnu

    k3o My name is James VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Highly doubt it for dual core semprons. Yes, you will see an increase - the CPU is encoding things faster.
     
    k3o, Jun 29, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. vishnu

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    depends on what you mean by faster. a better capable cpu would definately make it faster, but if you are just talking about faster clock rates, then no, not necessarily.
     
    spike228, Jun 29, 2005
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.