errors

Discussion in 'Announcements, Site Problems & Feedback' started by Core, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. Core

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Site's been pretty slow lately, but tonight came to a crawl at around 6 pm cst and after. Threw some error msgs at me as well:

     
    Core, Nov 3, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Core

    clifford VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thats the same time I was recieving them. I have not recieved them for awhile now. I hope its a one time thing, It lasted a week or two the last time.
     
    clifford, Nov 3, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Core

    Maurice Bloody good bloke VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    London England
    the hamster must be getting a bit tired running in that wheel day in, day out.......
     
    Maurice, Nov 3, 2009
    #3
  4. Core

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    :lol2:lol2:lol2
     
    Core, Nov 3, 2009
    #4
  5. Core

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia

    Well he has been running overtime since I now have a cell phone that surfs the web and THQ saved in my favs :)
     
    Zeus, Nov 3, 2009
    #5
  6. Core

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'll run a database optimise and see if that speeds things up :) It could be the sitemap script causing a slowdown, as that ran around that time last night - but the main backups are only done on Sat morning as that brought things to a crawl.

    edit: Site might be a bit slow for a few mins while I run the DB query.
     
    Ian, Nov 4, 2009
    #6
  7. Core

    Maurice Bloody good bloke VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    London England
    give that blasted hamster a nudge LOL
     
    Maurice, Nov 4, 2009
    #7
  8. Core

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'm curious, how big is the DB?
     
    Goober, Nov 4, 2009
    #8
  9. Core

    danperteet I broke it again. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Georgia
    I think the table that contains the log of Zeus' bans has gotten too large. :)
     
    danperteet, Nov 4, 2009
    #9
  10. Core

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    :lol2:lol2:lol2

    It's about 400MB IIRC :)
     
    Ian, Nov 5, 2009
    #10
  11. Core

    clifford VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'm curious, how big is the hamster? :)
     
    clifford, Nov 5, 2009
    #11
  12. Core

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here's the little guy - you can see why the server was slow ;)

    [ame]
     
    Ian, Nov 5, 2009
    #12
  13. Core

    Maurice Bloody good bloke VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    London England
    he he he he
     
    Maurice, Nov 6, 2009
    #13
  14. Core

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Virginia
    lol nice Ian.
     
    Zeus, Nov 6, 2009
    #14
  15. Core

    danperteet I broke it again. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Georgia
    I hate to dig this back up, but TechieHQ and Windows 8 Forums, both locked up several hours ago. I didn't look at a clock, so I am sure that isn't much help.
    Got the maximum execution time has exceeded 30 seconds or whatever it usually says.
     
    danperteet, Feb 6, 2010
    #15
  16. Core

    Core in pounce mode Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Ian stopped feeding the hamster. Something about the rising cost of food.
     
    Core, Feb 6, 2010
    #16
  17. Core

    clifford VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    11
    Time to upgrade to a Quad Hamster Wheel. :lol:
     
    clifford, Feb 6, 2010
    #17
  18. Core

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for the heads up Dan, I have a feeling it's due to the site backups running which locks the MySQL database for a short period (it runs around 3AM GMT each Sat).

    I may need to re-think how the sites are hosted to speed things up if it keeps doing it. :)
     
    Ian, Feb 7, 2010
    #18
  19. Core

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Server upgrade on the way :D

    I can't see how to stop this from happening any other way, so I took the plunge and ordered a new server. Should be online this week!
     
    Ian, Feb 7, 2010
    #19
  20. Core

    danperteet I broke it again. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Georgia
    What type did you get?
    Specs?
     
    danperteet, Feb 8, 2010
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.