Cant release ip?

Discussion in 'Networking and Internet' started by Kenny03, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. Kenny03

    Kenny03

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver, canada
    how come i cant release my ip address?
    i go to command prompt and type in ipconfig/release but when i press enter it still shows the same ip. the ip it shows is 169.254.225.141 and the subnet mask is 255.255.0.0 with a blank for default gateway and connection specific dns suffix

    is there ne other way to release my ip and renew it?

    im running xp sp1 btw
     
    Kenny03, Jan 15, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Kenny03

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    That's your private IP, and when you get that IP, it's an auto generated one, meaning that your NIC is set to get an IP from a DHCP server, and when it can't, Windows generates that IP.
     
    James, Jan 15, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Kenny03

    Kenny03

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver, canada
    then how come it cant get an ip when its connected to a router?
    the router has internet and works fine so its not a router problem.
     
    Kenny03, Jan 16, 2004
    #3
  4. Kenny03

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Make sure the router is setup as a DHCP server.
     
    James, Jan 16, 2004
    #4
  5. Kenny03

    Kenny03

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver, canada
    yes my laptop was connected to my home network fine with internet and everything but just yesterday the connection was completely lost after i installed the blaster worm remover tool and deleted some detected viruses off my laptop using mcafee.
     
    Kenny03, Jan 16, 2004
    #5
  6. Kenny03

    Kenny03

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver, canada
    i tried to ping the loopback address and the ip of the computer and it worked but i couldn't ping the default gateway or anything else. could this be because my network adapter is broken?

    i tried to ping my disconnected computer from another computer and it says request timed out. what does that mean?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2004
    Kenny03, Jan 16, 2004
    #6
  7. Kenny03

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Try removing (uninstall) and reinstalling your NIC. That may or may not help. Or buy / make a new patch cable.
     
    James, Jan 16, 2004
    #7
  8. Kenny03

    Kenny03

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver, canada
    i tried changing cables but nothing and i can't remove the nic card because its built in

    im currently reformatting my laptop to see if that helps. it usually will solve anything. ill tell u guys if it works.
     
    Kenny03, Jan 17, 2004
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. JEMASCOLA

    New OS Release?

    JEMASCOLA, Oct 22, 2005, in forum: Software
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    586
    Goober
    Oct 22, 2005
  2. Tony Sutton

    Re: Service Release 2 o/t

    Tony Sutton, Apr 19, 2007, in forum: DIY Computers
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    397
    Tony Sutton
    Apr 19, 2007
  3. GB

    E6750 release date

    GB, Jul 20, 2007, in forum: DIY Computers
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    492
  4. Johnny B Good

    Re: Samsung release USB monitor

    Johnny B Good, Oct 8, 2007, in forum: DIY Computers
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    395
    Johnny B Good
    Oct 10, 2007
  5. Trevor Best

    Re: AMD Release the Spiders

    Trevor Best, Nov 24, 2007, in forum: DIY Computers
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    340
    Trevor Best
    Nov 25, 2007
  6. joris
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    317
    joris
    Jun 17, 2009
  7. Your Name
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    427
    Your Name
    Jun 19, 2009
  8. Runamuk.

    New Release of Motherboard Monitor

    Runamuk., Feb 21, 2004, in forum: Computing
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    361
    Rod Speed
    Feb 26, 2004
Loading...