Amazing amount of Spyware

Discussion in 'System Security & Infection Support' started by k3o, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. k3o

    k3o My name is James VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    My uncle called me round to sort his laptop out because it was being slow and he was getting lots of pornographic popups. First thing I did was downloaded MS AntiSpyware. It found THIRTEEN threats. Lots of infected things also (trojans, browser hijackers, popups...), so I got rid of them and rebooted. Firstly, the Laptop was about 20% faster, but he still had about 80 running processes. I checked through and he still had one which was spyware. I then ran a virus check with McAffe, and no problems there. Then I increased his page File to 2GB and it was flying. (2.8Ghz with HT, bottlenecked with 256mb RAM).

    I was gobsmacked about all the spyware. I just thought I'd share it with you. If you have any stories post them here.
     
    k3o, Feb 7, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. k3o

    Snugglez lvl.49 Bone Mage VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Whittier, Ca.
    At work on Saturday a lady brought in her Laptop to be serviced. I told her if she didnt mind waiting I could check it out now because I wasnt very busy.

    Her initial problem was that "it went slow" "I downloaded NIS [norton security] but it doesnt work" "It takes 10 minutes to shut down"(sarcasm) and "I think I need to reformat".

    Well, I turn it on ----- it took 3 minutes to boot up!! Darn laptop. So, being in the Geek Squad, one of the first thing that I shared (when I got hired), and learned more about, was the location of a few folders that contain spyware/malware/viruses. So what we do is go to the folders and delete everything. THEN we run spysweeper and norton. (Usually what the costomers have).

    Well I went through her computer and 1 hour later....well, lemme reinact how I told her. Cause it made me laugh:

    Me: "Well, the good news, your laptop now shutsdown in about 3 seconds and shutsoff in less than 10 minutes, AND I uninstalled and reinstalled NIV and its fully operational. The bad news (not really cuz i fixed it) is that I ran both NIV and SpySweeper, and found that you had 3 viruses, 6 spyware, 3 hotbars, and 8 search toolbars."

    Lady: "[gasp] Did you fix it for me!?"

    Me: "Yes, well fortunatly those were the only things the sweepers found......AFTER I deleted over 3000 temp files including spyware."

    ---insert her stunned face here---

    Well, I guess its hard to explain maybe. I thought it was hilarious.

    Her laptop now boots in little over 1 minute. After I fixed some registry things. And it only takes a few seconds to start programs.

    The only downside, she knows me by name, and now calls our store asking for me because her internet isnt working. ::sadness::
     
    Snugglez, Feb 7, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. k3o

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    wow 3000!!! my gf's computer had 1500 on the first scan with ad-aware SE and then an aditional 600 more with spybot S&D.
     
    spike228, Feb 7, 2005
    #3
  4. k3o

    TheOneGreatX VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    US
    just out of curiosity, what are these folders that contain spyware?
     
    TheOneGreatX, Feb 7, 2005
    #4
  5. k3o

    D Schrute Assistant Sensei VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    VA & NC
    C:\Documents And Settings\Username\Local Settings\Temp ???

    (hidden folder)
     
    D Schrute, Feb 7, 2005
    #5
  6. k3o

    Snugglez lvl.49 Bone Mage VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Whittier, Ca.
    Ya..well here:

    C:\WINDOWS\Temp
    C:\Documents And Settings\Username\Local Settings\Temp
    C:\Documents And Settings\Username\Local Settings\temporary Internet
    C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Cookies
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\Cookies
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\Local Settings\Temp
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files

    There are a couple other things I normally check. But like I said she had a major build up. It was 3000+. Took 6 minutes to delete the contents of her system32\temp folder.

    EDIT: these were just the files too. I had to uninstall a few hotbars that effecting even the explorer. And she had about half her screen filled with "toolbars" on IE. And about 4-6 search assistants. I hadnt seen one so bad in a while lol.

    She said "I only bought it last June" <--- 2003 NOT 2004.
     
    Snugglez, Feb 8, 2005
    #6
  7. k3o

    TheOneGreatX VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    US
    thanks for those folders, ill use that next time i have a spyware issue
     
    TheOneGreatX, Feb 8, 2005
    #7
  8. k3o

    sh4d0w1ink92

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    Quick question...everything in the system32 folder is spyware? I hope not...cause if that's the case then I believe i have you beat rofl

    EDIT: They can't all be spyware...cause I see things in there like mspaint. But there's no 'local settings' anywhere...im gettin confused :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2005
    sh4d0w1ink92, Feb 9, 2005
    #8
  9. k3o

    TheOneGreatX VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    US
    no, just stuff in the folders he posted up there
     
    TheOneGreatX, Feb 9, 2005
    #9
  10. k3o

    sh4d0w1ink92

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ok good...kinda scared there for a minute :p Anyways...I deleted cookies and it looks like that pesky toolbar is gone...but now I got another! :rage
     
    sh4d0w1ink92, Feb 9, 2005
    #10
  11. k3o

    D Schrute Assistant Sensei VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    VA & NC
    Try MS AntiSpyware 1... it will remove bars/spyware/etc... and you can use tracks eraser instead of manually going to those folders.
     
    D Schrute, Feb 9, 2005
    #11
  12. k3o

    sh4d0w1ink92

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    And those would be found in...Handy Tools I assume?

    EDIT: downloading the ms antispyware now...going so slow. I mean don't think I'm complaining, I can wait a minute 40 secs to make my comp work :p But I can usually top out at 600 somethin kbs...why's it goin under 50 kbs now? :?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2005
    sh4d0w1ink92, Feb 9, 2005
    #12
  13. k3o

    sh4d0w1ink92

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    (sorry for double post) Ran MS Antispyware...9 threats lol. Got rid of those, but there's still some random toolbar on my browser
     
    sh4d0w1ink92, Feb 9, 2005
    #13
  14. k3o

    Cuddlez I'm Ron Burgundy? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    O.C. Californi-ay
    Haha!!

    Snugglez and I recently built a new computer for a friend of ours, and as "payment" we took his old computer to part out. So I put his HDD in my computer to re-format it, but as soon as Windows booted up my AV said it had a Trojan. So just out of curiosity before I reformatted I ran scans... he had 19 Trojans!!!!:shock:shock:shock After I deleted pretty much all his internet files, temp, etc... about 500 files total, he still had 11 spyware/adware/malware files 9 of which were just browser tools...:lol2
     
    Cuddlez, Feb 10, 2005
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.