Ahh, Pasword Help!

Discussion in 'Software' started by Hockeyman07, Sep 16, 2003.

  1. Hockeyman07

    Hockeyman07

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    Hey, I was wondering if anyone knew how to restet or maintain a pasword for a windows 2000 professional computer. I havent used it in months and fogot the password to it. I have heard it can be done, but cant find out how. It is a toshiba techra 8000 laptop. Thanks to anyone that helps...
    :doh
     
    Hockeyman07, Sep 16, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hockeyman07

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    You may find this helpful. It's the google results for crack Windows 2000 password. I would provide you with more detailed instructions, but I've never had to crack a password, so I don't quite know how. This article may also be helpful.
     
    undeadpenguin, Sep 16, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Hockeyman07

    SwordWielder Master of Swords VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    California
    Lost Password garentees that their software will reset the Admin password.

    Just be careful though, you could get fined by the owner if it isn't you and don' have their permission.
     
    SwordWielder, Sep 16, 2003
    #3
  4. Hockeyman07

    Hockeyman07

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I cant download the software to the computer if I cannot log onto it...
     
    Hockeyman07, Sep 16, 2003
    #4
  5. Hockeyman07

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    The program in the article I linked to doesn't need to be installed on the computer, you put it on a floppy and boot it.

    You could just stick in a bootdisk and fdisk if you don't mind losing all of your data and having to reinstall everything.
     
    undeadpenguin, Sep 16, 2003
    #5
  6. Hockeyman07

    Hockeyman07

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I wouldnt care if all of the data was lost, as long as the OS is still intact, or I can still intall 2000 again. Wanna tip me off how to go abouut this? :thumbs
     
    Hockeyman07, Sep 16, 2003
    #6
  7. Hockeyman07

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    You still have your install disk?

    Just stick it in your CD drive, then reboot the computer. It should boot into the CD. If it doesn't, you have to go into your BIOS and set your boot order to have the CD drive boot before the hard drive. Once you're in the CD, just follow the instructions and reinstall the operating system. It should be able to do it. If it doesn't, download a win98 bootdisk (bootdisks.com) and at the command prompt type fdisk and follow the instructions on the screen. Then do the above.
     
    undeadpenguin, Sep 16, 2003
    #7
  8. Hockeyman07

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    You install the program on another PC and then it makes a bootdisk to use on the PC you need to get into.
     
    James, Sep 16, 2003
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.