After install linux and removing it...

Discussion in 'Software' started by sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003.

  1. sneyens88

    sneyens88

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home
    After install linux and removing it...:doh:

    I formatted my drive and installed linux. I created an extra partition with 15 gigs of space so I can install the old operating system, Windows ME on those 15 gigs. I typed in FDISK and created a dos partition, which was the 15 gigs. Unfortunetaly GRUB is not recognizing windows ME and I cannot boot into ME even with a boot disk. I unistalled linux and deleted all partitions and made one just for ME using all 30gigs. I installed ME and yet GRUB shows up in text. In other words, I NEED HELP! LOL
     
    sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sneyens88

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    well, first I need to know what Grub is :p
     
    S Walch, Sep 6, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sneyens88

    sneyens88

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home
    GRUB is the Linux Loader so u can choose between OS but apparently doesnt work.
     
    sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003
    #3
  4. sneyens88

    S Walch MAME 0.64 :) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester
    Format drive then and install winME
     
    S Walch, Sep 6, 2003
    #4
  5. sneyens88

    sneyens88

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home
    I did like 5 times, GRUB is still in the MBR and i did fdisk /mbr and nothing happened. If GRUB is still there I cant run ME cuz its trying to run LINUX
     
    sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003
    #5
  6. sneyens88

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    I've had that problem before too. Grub can be hard to remove. Best way to remove grub is to run a recovery console with a Windows 2000 CD, and run fixmbr. That will over write grub.

    Also, when this is fixed, install Windows first, then Linux on a sep. partition.
     
    James, Sep 6, 2003
    #6
  7. sneyens88

    sneyens88

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home
    Ya, but I aint got windows 2000. I got Windows ME Recovery Disk for HP. It came with the system. I have to repair the Master Boot Record somehow.
     
    sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003
    #7
  8. sneyens88

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    And you said fdisk /mbr does not work? Go into fdisk and make sure that all partitions are gone. Then create one active partition and try to format it.

    Fdisk /mbr will work.
     
    James, Sep 6, 2003
    #8
  9. sneyens88

    sneyens88

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home
    when i type fdisk /mbr

    Does anything special happen or it just makes a sound and goes back to the floppy command.
     
    sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003
    #9
  10. sneyens88

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    It should do it pretty quickly. Try it a few times, it worked for me. If not, you could do a low level format (What drive do you have?).

    Also try what I said about FDISK and recreating partitions.
     
    James, Sep 6, 2003
    #10
  11. sneyens88

    sneyens88

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home
    I just fdisk /mbr and now im installing the OS, its formatting right now. I doubt its gonna work.
     
    sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003
    #11
  12. sneyens88

    James Photojournalist VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Ok, if not try recreating the partitions. That will make a new MBR.
     
    James, Sep 6, 2003
    #12
  13. sneyens88

    sneyens88

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home
    I just deleted all the partitions and created a new one just for Windows ME, I aint installing Linux until I know i can fix it this time. Once I learn to fix it ill start messing with it again. I fdisk /mbr the first time when linux was still on a partition and i booted from the HD and it said no operating system, so that must mean it worked but I formatted it and stopped it cuz u told me differently and I doing it your way
     
    sneyens88, Sep 6, 2003
    #13
  14. sneyens88

    plumcrazy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    ditch the ME and use VMware to use windows 2000 pro. thats what I run and love it.
     
    plumcrazy, Sep 27, 2003
    #14
  15. sneyens88

    undeadpenguin Bang. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    US, CT
    Re-install Linux and install LILO, not Grub, Grub's a piece of crap. Then do this command (as root):

    [editor] /etc/lilo.conf

    Where [editor] is a text editor of your choosing. At the end, add the option

    other=[location of DOS partition, i.e. /dev/hda1]
    label=dos

    Then issue the command

    lilo

    as root. That should do it for you.
     
    undeadpenguin, Sep 27, 2003
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.