Advice hardware and ram and external harddrives

Discussion in 'System Building & Upgrades' started by spike228, Aug 13, 2005.

  1. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    first, i need an external harddrive. which one would you recommend?

    this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822154623

    or this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822144373

    or is there a better one for around the same price range?

    i would really like to get the phantom one since it the cheapest but i don't want to have an unreliable harddrive from going too cheap.

    second thing i need, laptop ram. i need 2 sticks of 512MB, PC2700 200pin SO-DIMM. again which one should i get?

    this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820221204

    or this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820141519

    or are there any one ones that are about the same price that are better?

    i would go with the corsair or patriot ones but i don't really want to blow extra money if i don't really have to.

    another thing is that my laptop, like all other ones, get extremely hot. so i need ram that can tolerate heat pretty well.

    thanks for your time.
     
    spike228, Aug 13, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. spike228

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    James, Aug 13, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    i can understand what you are saying if i was custom building a computer. but i spent more than enough money fixing this laptop then i needed to just because HP made this poor quality thing...

    I just need an 80GB, thats already over kill for what i need it for.

    crucial doesn't have my laptop model. pavillion ze5630us. they only show presario.

    edit: i'll get the patriot ram.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820220112

    how is that?
     
    spike228, Aug 13, 2005
    #3
  4. spike228

    Fenis-Wolf VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Mi
    1) You only have one externally accessable RAM slot on your laptop. The other one will be impossible to get to from the outside.
    2) I would go with the WD one that James posted. WD are rock solid.
     
    Fenis-Wolf, Aug 14, 2005
    #4
  5. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    i can open the bottom slot and see 2 slots for ram. i know i can get to them.

    and james posted a bunch of maxtor drives. was there a link screw up or something?
     
    spike228, Aug 14, 2005
    #5
  6. spike228

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    I personaly suggest SeaGate, Ive had a 3.99Gb seagate for ~9 years now, still runs xp, on the slow side. Those maxtors seem to go out fast from what I have delt with.

    The patriot ram should be good enough for your use
     
    Goober, Aug 14, 2005
    #6
  7. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    yea i really wanted to get a seagate one but the price is overwhelming. i have a seagate internal HDD in my PC. i have also heard that maxtors go out pretty fast, but are good while they are still alive ;)
     
    spike228, Aug 14, 2005
    #7
  8. spike228

    James Photojournalist

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,662
    Likes Received:
    35
    I've dealt with man Maxtor drives and they are solid. Seagates are as well. If this is just for a cheap laptop, get whatever is compatable and cheapest than.

    You can purchase EHDD shells and put your own drive in it too.
     
    James, Aug 14, 2005
    #8
  9. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    i thought about that but it cost more. anywho, i saw an 80GB WD external harddrive at circuit city for $50. so i think i'll go with the WD. thanks for all of your suggestions!

    as for the ram, i am probably going to order it later today so until then, i am still open to suggestions.
     
    spike228, Aug 14, 2005
    #9
  10. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    well i got that WD EHDD and i am reformating it to NTFS right now because the default format was FAT32.

    i will be transfering my video files on there shortly after the format is done.

    so far, i'm loving this thing.
     
    spike228, Aug 15, 2005
    #10
  11. spike228

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    Glad to know that things are working out for you.
     
    Goober, Aug 15, 2005
    #11
  12. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    eeck, the patriot ram sold out. so i just got the corsairs :p
     
    spike228, Aug 15, 2005
    #12
  13. spike228

    Goober THQ's Jester Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Colorado
    lolz well you can wait for teh patriot ram to come back in
     
    Goober, Aug 15, 2005
    #13
  14. spike228

    spike228 ST 38 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    nah i actually have to get it as soon as possible. i already have a 30 second generic leader due next week thurs.
     
    spike228, Aug 16, 2005
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.